What is growth mind set really

Andrew Progin
The Compass Rose
Published in
1 min readDec 4, 2017

This year when we first talked about growth mind set I felt as if I already was using the the growth mind set techniques but when I looked at what growth mind set really was I realized that I wasn’t using growth mind set techniques I was just being opened minded about my work. Now in college I have tried using more techniques about growth mind set and really using the form of “not yet” this helps me stay positive and focus throughout my studying. Another benefit of using the notion of “not yet” is that I can actually see how I am getting better, I can really tell this because now that I use the thought of “not yet” I really see how I improve I go through my work step by step to see if I understand and how I am getting better at it. Another thing I’ve been trying is setting goals and rewarding my self when I get work not only done but done and correct because growth mind set isn’t about just doing the work but doing the work and doing a good/ correct job on it. I am glad we learned of growth mind set I think that the knowledge of growth mind set has helped me and will help me over not only over the next few years in college but also as I go into the really world and have to learn many different things for what the future holds.

--

--