http://www.laguardiaperformingarts.org/event/42e977ca9795d8bd7607e493b690503c/Stirred-Crazy-Pt-1

Stirred Crazy Pt1 inspired by the life of Richard Pryor Jr. December 6th 2014 8pm at The Little Theater in The LaGuardia Performing Arts Center

In my career I have the good fortune to be witness to many fantastic artist at work.

I am a fan. Actors, are special breed of artist in my point of view, because they are the brush, paint, and the stroke by which a writers words and a directors vision of those words are brought to life.

I am presently working with a man that carries an artistic legacy that would make most of crumble at our knees. I am referring to Richard Pryor Jr.

“Is he funny?” Is what most people want to know. “Is he like his father?”.

As I am presently a father to a boy; I can answer those questions this way: My son is my flesh and blood. So he looks, walks, and is a lot like me. I am in his life and he does certain things just like me. But do you know what is the most amazing thing about the human being my son is?

What is the most amazing about my son is what is God given to him, that thing that is his own. It makes him unique, remarkable, it makes him amazing and it will in its own time rightfully eclipse the shadow of me.

Richard Pryor Jr. is his own artist, his own talent, his own vessel. Are there echoes of his father? Of course there is; Richard Pryor, is his father for crying out loud. But is he like his father? …My answer to you is this: I never knew Richard Pryor Sr. So I don’t know. I knew his body of work, but the body of work of an artist is not the human being it is his or her work.

I can tell you he, Richard Pryor Jr., is a consummate professional. I can tell you he is a talented man, a strong actor, and his comedic timing is impeccable not to mention the brother can SANG!!!! I don’t feel that makes him like his father. I do feel that means his father and his mother Pat Pryor set a good example for him regarding what proper work ethic is all about and that Richard Pryor Jr. has carried that with him regardless of what field has worked in.

Another thing I can tell you is that the ensemble is watching Richard work with ensemble and add just the right touch of his magic from dramatic to funny is absolutely amazing to witness.

I can also tell you that the cast: Cori Robinson, Jeannie Sol, Khiry Walker, Jenelle Simone, and Otis Cotton are an absolute joy on stage. Each bringing with them contributions and talents that can allow a depth of feeling that moves the soul. As they stretch and grow, push themselves and me to be a better artist.

The stage in the Little Theater at LPAC is great and there is not a moment that I’m not so incredibly grateful to John Wilson for bringing us into the fold of the LPAC family: Steve Hitt and Carmen Griffin have been amazing to us and Isabelle Marsico is a miracle worker.

So what’s left in this production process: for the masters at work to do what they do! Anthony Ruiz is rounding out the funny on the script, Shawn Keys is working out the musical bars, and Danny Soto will come in and put his touch of grace into the movement of the actors.

Aside from that all that we are missing is you. On December 6th 2014 @ 8 pm. In the little theater at the Laguardia Performing Arts Center, We have one night to bring you into the “Stirred Crazy Pt1" inspired by the life of Richard Pryor Junior. I hope you join us.

Jose A. Esquea

Director/Producer

TTO Entertainment

--

--