A Conversation with Sam Ali

Sam Ali talks about latest EP Little Birds, gigging around Ireland and going solo.

Brian Strahan
The Con
4 min readApr 18, 2017

--

Former TouchWood front man Sam Ali is going it alone. Music has been a part of his life since he started playing the piano at three years-of-age. In his early teens he began writing and singing his own music. His latest EP — Little Birds — is another step on his musical journey. A journey infused with with eclectic influences and emotional investment.

Brian Strahan: What’s the background to the Little Birds EP?

Sam Ali: The background of Little Birds EP is coming through an extremely tough time but finding the strength to survive and grow stronger.

BS: Is an expression of that pain through music a release?

SA: When I’m writing a song, and then the first time I play the song, it is a big release. Playing in general for me is a great way of dealing with different things. If I couldn’t play, I’d probably go mad!

BS: Do you work full-time on your music?

SA: I did work at it full-time, but unfortunately music doesn’t always pay the bills, so I’m balancing a full-time job and music which can be hard at times. But when it means I can afford to do what I want when it comes to music, it’s a reward in itself.

BS: Are you gigging much?

SA: 2016 I was gigging a lot. I played all over Ireland; Cork, Dublin, Clare, Wexford, Wicklow and even got to play at Electric Picnic. The last gig I played was in the Button Factory as part of the Searchlight Productions showcase. I took a break then to finish off the EP, as I recorded and mixed it myself. So, like any musician, I found it very hard to say “right it’s finished now”. I’ll be playing the Crow Club on the 27th of this month but by then I hope to be back playing at least once a week.

BS: When you’re not playing regularly does it affect you?

SA: That’s a good question. I do tend to get quite grumpy if I haven’t done a gig in a while, and confidence drops too, but all it takes is one gig, and by the second song I’m not nervous anymore. I was in a band called TouchWood for eight years, and nerves were never an issue because we had a great chemistry together. But, I’ve only really started getting nervous since I started playing on my own, and once I’m gigging regularly the pre-gig nerves disappear.

BS: Do you miss the support that comes with being in a band?

SA: In ways — yes. Like carrying gear is more of a pain now! But, I’m enjoying doing my own thing and it’s a lot easier making decisions, because with the band everything was decided with a majority rule and that could take a couple of days; where as now if I want to do something, I don’t have to run it by anyone. I can just do what I want to do. I do miss the band but this is a new adventure and I’m just enjoying it.

BS: Are you more exposed though?

SA: I think my musical emotion is more exposed because it’s just me and the piano now and sometimes cello; which is more emotional sounding than a four-piece band. But, personally, it’s made me more outgoing, as I can’t hide behind anyone else anymore, I have to pour every bit of emotion into every performance or it could come across dull and boring.

BS: Is that something you needed. That isolation to bring you out of your shell?

SA: I don’t know to be honest, but it definitely helped. My ability to be a front man has improved; talking to the crowd, explaining how I came to write a song and talking to people after gigs. I’ve found that where my writing style can be quite depressing, I’m now able to cover that between songs with humour, which is good.

BS: Why was your writing depressing?

SA: I think I’m just a miserable fucker when it comes to music! I started writing songs and singing at about 14, and singing sad songs just came more naturally to me. I do try to write the odd upbeat song but it’s harder.

BS: Why do you think that is?

SA: I honestly don’t know. Even when listening to music I like the sadder songs on albums, but they don’t upset me, they can actually better a mood.

BS: Maybe because there is more sincerity or meaning?

SA: Maybe so. I think most of the time a sad song is more honest. Not all the time, but when it comes to modern music, I think more so.

BS: Who do you like listening to yourself?

SA: I used to be obsessed with Coldplay, but since their Mylo Xyloto album, they’ve gone off the boil for me. I’d listen to London Grammar, Fleetwood Mac, Michael Kiwanuka, Tom Odell, Patrick Watson, M83, E.L.O., Queen, Super Tramp, Billie Holiday, Phil Colins, Radiohead, Muse. Pretty much everything and anything. If I like a song, it doesn’t matter who it’s by, I’ll listen.

BS: Would you listen to hip-hop or rap?

SA: I did at one point, but not really anymore. It was more of a phase than anything, although two of my closest friends listen to nothing else.

BS: Do you have other interests? Outside of music?

SA: I do, but at the moment I can’t think of anything cos I’ve got a song going around in my head!

BS: Do you read?

SA: I should and I’d love to but I don’t I’m a bit lazy in that regard, but I do love movies.

BS: What do you like?

SA: I like Game of Thrones, pints, good food, I like to dabble in a bit of cooking, but mostly it’s all about music for me.

--

--