A Conversation with Seán Dillon

Sean Dillon has forged a career in Scotland for ten years; he speaks about his time in Ireland, learning at Cherry Orchard and his life and future in Dundee.

Brian Strahan
The Con
12 min readApr 21, 2017

--

Redoubtable on the pitch and a steadfast presence at Dundee United, Seán Dillon is an integral part of Tannadice Park and everything that goes with it. Affable and generous, Dillon is great company. If he questions whether he could have gone further in the game, it wasn’t down to a lack of endeavor.

And he can consider himself on the wrong side of luck that his appearances for the Republic of Ireland were limited to outside of the senior time. There were periods, at the very least games, where he deserved his opportunity. But it didn’t happen. And ill feeling isn’t harboured by a man who exudes decency.

A family man, Dillon refers back to his parents when he speaks of the work ethic that prepare him and still carries him through the game. And his time at Cherry Orchard which helped shape his approach to the game. Organisation and hard work. Virtues fans of Dundee United have witnessed in abundance during his sustained period which has seen him reach his tenth — and testimonial career. But he’s not finished quite yet.

Brian Strahan: How does it feel to have made a testimonial year?

Seán Dillon: Well, I’ve been told I’m only the 17th player to have one in the club’s history. I’m proud. I’ve been here for so long, it’s a great club and I’ve really enjoyed my time.

BS: Did you ever think you’d be there this long? You don’t see a lot of longevity in modern football.

SD: Not at all, when Craig [Levein] signed me he described the club as a shop window, and that proved correct for a lot of lads who got bigger moves. But I obviously never done enough to get one myself.

BS: Is that a bit harsh on yourself?

SD: Possibly, there’s been times when I knew there was interest elsewhere and I could have ran my contract down and moved on but I like it here and was always happy signing on again. There’s never been a phone call to the club offering to buy me so I’ve never had that decision to make.

BS: You’ve been a success though. You’ve established yourself in Scotland. A lot of people fail at that.

SD: Success is measured differently by different people. I’m proud that I’m still playing football at 33 and have plans and hopes to continue playing.

I’ve made a few appearances over the years, I’ve won the Scottish Cup and been close to winning it again and also the league cup finals, but didn’t quite manage on those occasions which is a major disappointment.

BS: Do you feel that personally you’ve fulfilled your potential?

SD: Tough question. I’d like to think I could have played at a higher level at one time in my career, but the fact that I didn’t, suggests I’m wrong. I think I’ve got this far and stayed this long because of hard work and dedication, so maybe I have fulfilled my potential or even got further than expected.

BS:Are you settled in Scotland now? Can you see it being home?

SD: At the moment we are settled, Michelle and the boys [Shéa & Finn] are happy and that makes me happy. What the future will bring, we don’t know, but I love where we are right now.

BS:: It’s pretty scenic, by the coast. What would you do in your spare time?

SD: My boys take up my spare time, Shéa is six and Finn two; so I’ve a good mix of activities between them. When I do have some time, I like to get a game of golf in, we’re very lucky with some of the courses that are local, some I’ve had a chance to play and others I’m still hoping to!

BS: I saw Shéa scored in your testimonial. That was a lovely touch.

SD: It was amazing for me. I asked if we could get him on for a penalty near the end and the officials were great about it. In the end, Noel Hunt brought him on during play and it turned out better than any penalty. I’ll be forever grateful to Hunty and everyone on the pitch for making it happen, even the ‘keeper made it look realistic!

BS: Is Shéa still talking about it?

SD: He’s been quiet enough this week, he got to come up with us to lift the trophy when the lads won the challenge cup a few days later, so it’s been a good week for him!

BS: I’m sure life has changed since you had the boys. Do you think you have changed?

SD: I’d like to think I haven’t changed but my thought process has changed a bit, similar to when Michelle moved over, having Shéa and Finn now. Everything you do or are asked to do, whether it’s a game of golf, a night out with the lads, or anything to do with the club, the first thing you think of is the family before committing to anything. I still love a bit of craic when the time is right.

BS: And when you’re allowed.

SD: I like to have a laugh wherever I am and with whoever I’m with.

BS: How do you remember your time at Cherry Orchard?

SD: I only had one season there; John Burke, Jimmy McNevin and George Johnson where the coaches. I loved it, it was my only year in DDSL [Dublin and District Schoolboys League] football. We won the all-Ireland, it was a great season and a great time for me. It was my first experience of having scouts at my games; big games, against the big clubs and playing for a big club; everyone at the club was brilliant with me.

BS: Did it shape how you played the game?

SD: It helped. John & Jimmy had high standards and demanded things were done correctly. I’ve always had a good work ethic because of my Ma and Da so I think that’s where I get it from but every manager and coach have added something to my game and also as a person.

BS:What age where you then when you went to Aston Villa? 16?

SD: Yeah, about a month after I turned 16.

BS: How did you find that?

SD: I really enjoyed my time at Aston Villa. I had some tough days, some at the club and some back at the digs but nothing a teenager wouldn’t have. I felt lucky to be given the opportunity to be there, around great players, learning, working, getting to watch a different premier league team play at Villa Park every second Saturday, it was great.

BS: Did you grow up quicker, than say your pals back home?

SD: I think I matured a lot quicker than I would have at home. I was looked after very well in digs, but I still had to take care myself too. Being away at 16, 17, 18 I think helped too, I never really had the time to think about anything else other than football and I think that focus helped me.

BS: Did Villa not working out affect you?

SD: It upset me that I was told I wasn’t staying, but the coaches there helped me look for another club, I was told in January I wouldn’t be staying but didn’t leave until May and had a few trials in that time but I couldn’t get a deal. I came home and trained with Longford, Shamrock Rovers and Shelbourne and eventually signed with Longford, it was a strange few weeks back home, but I was lucky with how it worked out.

BS: So Alan Matthews brought you in?

SD: Martin Lawlor signed me on a Monday night, he left the club on the Wednesday and Alan started me on the Friday in our first game of the season against Bray!

BS: Did that unsettle you, that Lawlor signed you and then he was gone?

SD: Not at all, I didn’t have time to think about it. Alan Mathews was so good to me in my time at Longford, I couldn’t thank him enough. Aaron Callaghan was the assistant and he was a huge help to me too, they worked really well together and both helped me massively to improve.

BS: What where their strengths?

SD: I think Alan’s man-management was great, certainly with me. Aaron’s enthusiasm for the game was brilliant. They were both defenders and always had good advice for me. They took a chance on me and played me every week… I think I missed one game that season… and I felt they trusted me which is a big thing for a young player.

BS:: They were a good cup team?

SD: 2003 and 2004 were obviously successful with four cups finals and winning three of them, but I’m sure the worst placed finish we had was sixth in the four seasons I was there and we were part-time too, so I don’t think it was just a cup team.

BS: Sustained league success too. The Shelbourne move came at what was an exciting time?

SD: I loved my time at Longford, but I wanted to be full-time, I handed in my notice at work and two weeks later, everyone was made redundant; so again, I was very lucky with timing. I was delighted when I signed for Shels, it was brilliant.

BS: So what was the set up when you went to Shels’?

SD: Full-time, we were based in the AUL. Pat Fenlon was great with me, Eamonn Collins was his assistant, again, full of enthusiasm for the game. Mick Neville and Fred Davis also were there and it was just a great group, I was 22 and apart from a couple of younger lads who didn’t play much, I was the youngest. The dressing room was full of top players, top professionals and they looked after me in the same way the Longford lads did.

BS: But it was the beginning of the end for that set up at Shels?

SD: I didn’t know that until it was over, for me even though the payments weren’t always on time, we had such a great group of players and staff, it was just so enjoyable, and it’s the only time I’ve won a league. For me it was just an amazing year.

BS: Were you nervous about the move to Dundee United?

SD: A little bit. I was excited by it, being away again, bigger stadiums, bigger crowds. I felt ready to have a go at it and Craig Levein and Peter Houston spoke very well when I met them, so it was more excitement to get going again.

BS: Levein brought success. What type of manager did you find him and Peter?

SD: Craig was brilliant, he was extremely demanding, but simplified things for me and the team. He showed his trust in you and always encouraged you regardless of mistakes, as long as you were trying to do the right thing and worked hard. He was happy, it’s no surprise that he got the Scotland job, I was gutted at how it turned out for him as I know how good he is. Peter also was great and similar to Craig having worked together for so long. We finished third and won the cup with him and qualified for Europe twice after that too.

BS: So when Peter took over from him it wasn’t that big a change?

SD: It was around Christmas time I think, we had a terrible result away to Rangers and we weren’t sure what was going to happen, but Peter took the job and thankfully we went on a great run. I’d really enjoyed working with Peter and it was a successful time, so it was disappointing to see him go. I suppose when any manager leaves, it brings an uncertainty for everyone.

BS: Do you find as captain and a stalwart that your leadership is needed in times like that? Times of change.

SD: I wasn’t captain at the time, but I was there a while. I suppose everyone just gets on with it, there’s uncertainty but it shouldn’t change your attitude towards work or how you train.

BS: It was shortlived but did working with David Bowman in the caretaker manager role give you much of an insight into the role?

SD: Bow was put in charge and I was asked to help him but I had to train myself. So out on the park didn’t change much for me. But Bow asked my opinion and involved me in the preparation for the game which was great.

BS:You enjoyed it?

SD: I did, yes. We had a few days training and just one game. The performance in the game was poor, which was disappointing. Like I said, I was training with the team but I was in early with Bow going over what our session would be, it was a good experience but only lasted a few days.

BS: Is it something you’d like to revisit — coaching?

SD: Yes, I helped Bow with the Under-20’s for a while. Myself and Willo Flood now help with the Under-17’s. We get to take sessions and assist on match days too, it’s something I get a real buzz for. We’ve both done our UEFA B and A license. I’d love to manage, coach — eventually.

BS: Do you learn anything in return from the lads you coach?

SD: Yes, every one of the players are different and while we treat them all equally, they all need to improve on different things. So, I’m always trying to learn about them as individuals and as a group and try to improve them. Those who are kept on after the summer will be full-time in pre-season, so it’s an important time for them.

BS: You played for the Under-21’s and the Irish B team. Were you ever called into a senior squad?

SD: Never the senior squad. I played at under-age level, 21s and B.

BS: You must have felt you were close though?

SD: Well, I never stayed waiting on a squad announcement. There were times I’d see boys picked that I’d played with or against and I’d think maybe one day I’d get a chance but it wasn’t to be, and I certainly have no complaints about never being selected, although it’s a dream I’ve always had. I feel lucky & proud to have played at other under age levels and my B appearance too.

BS: Who was that against?

SD: Scotland. Myself and Noel Hunt from Dundee United. Graham Gartland also played, we hadn’t played together for a while, and didn’t after that!

BS: Did you beat Scotland that night?

SD: 1–1. Richie Byrne scored for us, not sure who their goal scorer was.

BS: So you and Graham played alongside each other?

SD: We’d a couple of trips together with Ireland at Under-19s with Ireland, then he was at Longford for a couple of seasons with me and then the B game.

BS: I presume it was at Longford you became close?

SD: Yeah, we became close then but the couple of trips away before hand, one in particular was Japan for about 10 days, was probably when we first got to know each other.

BS: A trip to Japan with Ireland, what was that like?

SD: I played for him [Brian Kerr] from 16’s to 20’s, although I was never a regular in his squads. I didn’t always get picked so that was annoying at times, but I loved working with him, his enthusiasm for the game and his passion for Ireland was infectious. He has his own way of putting things during team talks and I still get great enjoyment listening to him now commentating, his knowledge of the game is incredible. Whether it’s Irish players or opposition, he knows everyone and everything about them! Similar to Craig, I was gutted when he didn’t get longer as senior manager. I’d love to see him back in the game, it’s a shame he’s not.

BS: No one did a more thorough and complete apprenticeship for the Ireland job than Brian and got less support. That’s my opinion.

SD: He certainly worked his way up for many years, and so many of his under- age players became full internationals. I’ve huge respect for him and what he’s done, I just think it’s a shame he’s not involved more, especially with Ireland.

BS: Can you see yourself settling in Dundee long-term?

SD: Right now I’m happy here, the family are happy but you never know what might happen in the future.

BS:: When you moved over did you realise the stadiums for Dundee and yourselves were practically on top of each other?

SD: I’ve an uncle in Glasgow, big Celtic fan so he was filling me in, but it’s only when I got there that I realised how close they are!

BS:: How intense is the rivalry?

SD: It’s massive, but I’ve never heard of any trouble, families and friends who support each team drink together and walk to the game together, then go their separate ways for the match, but meet up again afterwards. Touch wood, I’ve never had any hassle at all from opposition fans.

Read more Conversations With here.

--

--