A Conversation with Sean Turner

Sean Turner was fighting grown men at 11-years-old. He’s 10–0 as a professional and one of Ireland’s best up and coming heavyweights.

Brian Strahan
The Con
4 min readApr 17, 2017

--

Sean Turner didn’t need much of an opportunity to make an impression. In his first professional bout against Zoltan Elekes, his opponent lasted eight seconds. Now the heavyweight remains undefeated in ten fights, with seven knockouts. Not surprising for someone who was fighting grown men when he was still 11.

As he prepares to face Con Sheehan this June for the vacant Irish title, Turner has taken another step that he feels is reaping massive rewards, linking up with Pete Taylor. Under Taylor’s tutelage, Turner feels in the shape of his life. A life shaped by a love of boxing, family and friends.

He returns to the ring on April 22nd in Solihull against Polish fighter Kamil Sokolowski.

Brian Strahan: Where did you grow up Sean?

Sean Turner: I was born in Holles Street Hospital and bred in Shankill.

BS: Big family?

ST: I’ve just one sister.

BS: What was Shankill like growing up?

ST: Shankill was a great place, couldn’t say much bad about it. I enjoyed growing up in Shankill with all my mates.

BS: And was sport a big thing for you from early on?

ST: Yes, I used to play football every day during the summer and always was at the beach swimming. Sport was a big part of my childhood.

BS: And boxing?

ST: I used to play football for Ballybrack Boys, and there was a boxing club in the same building, so I joined the club and fell in love with boxing. I was shite at football and I was good at boxing so I stuck to it!

BS: So what age was that?

ST: I was 11.

BS: Did you realise early on you weren’t too bad?

ST: Well I was so heavy as a young lad they couldn’t find me a person to fight my same age, so I was in the ring with men, and when I was knocking out fully grown men I kind of knew I was decent.

BS: Did it worry your family, fighting at that level so young?

ST: Not one bit. My Dad put me in the ring with anybody.

BS: Sounds like you had no fear?

ST: No, I was young and dumb.

BS: Was doing that then detrimental to your development?

ST: No, it done me the world of good.

BS: Do you still have no fear?

ST: Fighting is like second nature to me. I’ve been through too much to fear any man.

BS: What about fear of being good enough? Do you have days or moments when you doubt your ability?

ST: At the start of my pro-career I had some doubts. Was I good enough, was I fit enough was I strong enough. But after ten fights and seven knockouts, I know I can go all the way. I have huge faith in myself.

BS: You’ve lost twice to Anthony Joshua. Do you think you could beat him?

ST: Anthony Joshua is an animal and if I did fight him I would give him my very best shot. He is a serious fighter; he’s vicious and comes to kill in the ring. He’s really the next big thing.

BS: Do you like him?

ST: I sure do, he’s a real nice fella.

BS: What has Pete Taylor brought to your game?

ST: Pete Taylor has brought the best out of me. He has my fitness up, he has my power up — he is working me like a dog. I’m training twice per day, six days a week, Pete Taylor is turning me into a better fighter day by day.

BS: Is it that he pushes you harder?

ST: I give Pete Taylor 120 percent each time. Every session he pushes me to my max.

BS: Has he changed much for you in terms of technique?

ST: Yes, in two weeks we have seen big changes in my boxing already.

BS: What have you changed?

ST: I’m boxing now more than just fighting. Picking my shots, putting combos together. I’m working on not being hit. Working hard on strength and power and also fitness.

BS: Is that part hard, the working on not being hit? It must take huge concentration?

ST: It’s takes a lot of energy to keep moving and not get hit. But with my fitness getting better, my boxing is getting better with it.

BS: What do you do to unwind?

ST: I just look after my kids, I walk my dogs, I go watch football matches. I love chilling and watching a good boxing match.

BS: Has life changed much since you had kids?

ST: My kids have really changed my life. Basically, I look at life a lot different now. I’ve two babies to look after — they come first now ahead of my friends. They have made me wise up and cop to life.

BS: Are you looking forward to the fight in Solihull?

ST: Yes I can’t wait. It’s going to be a tough test. Con is also undefeated at 5–0.

BS: Can I ask if you’ve thought of life after boxing?

ST: Yes, life after boxing me and my father are going to open a café and go from there. My father was a chef for 20 years; hopefully we will get that up and running in the next few months.

BS: That’s interesting. In Dublin?

ST: Maybe the Shankill area to start off!

BS: It’s a tough trade isn’t it, competitive?

ST: Yes pal. But we will see how things go with it.

--

--