The Fighting Irish: A chat with one of Irelands up and coming MMA fighters, John Mitchell

The Cork boy is taking the Irish MMA scene by storm, and Eoin Sheehan caught up with his friend for a chat on his career and aspirations.

Eoin Sheehan
The Con
4 min readAug 30, 2017

--

John Mitchell is fast becoming one of Irelands most promising MMA fighters. The CIT student is an amateur MMA fighter out of the BJJ gym in Cork, and has been taking the Irish MMA scene by storm over the last six months.

I caught up with John last week to chat on his career so far, his training, his diet and future aspirations in MMA. Please read John’s answers in a thick Cork accent.

What’s your training and fighting style?

My fighting style is predominately stand up. By the time I had made my debut I had a good few boxing and Thai boxing fights, so I feel most comfortable on my feet. I complete in both welterweight and lightweight divisions, and hold belts in both divisions.

Why choose MMA, having already competed in boxing?

I chose Mixed Martial Arts because I was always a huge fan of the sport and wanted a challenge. I was looking at the top-level athletes and thinking I could definitely compete with them… it was a personal challenge that evolved into a much bigger love for the sport.

What do you feel is the most important factor involved in training?

Without a doubt; consistency. Consistency beats passion 100% of the time. Anyone can come into a gym and smash a great session but it’s about going to the gym for the 8th time that week when your sore and tired or skipping nights out with friends that counts in the end. That’s when consistency starts becoming a factor.

What exactly goes through you head before you step into the ring or octagon?

I’ve had seven MMA fights and have tried different approaches for each fight. What I’ve learnt is to just go with whatever your feeling; if your angry, use it. If your relaxed, go with that. Don’t fight how you feel before a fight, it’s often a good dictator of your own character and preparation for the fight.”

Is there a general diet or eating style you follow day to day?

I don’t have a ‘general diet’ as such. It varies depending on how far I am from a fight. If I don’t have an event coming up, I’ll maintain and stay fueled for training. If I’m in a fight camp on the other hand, I’m in a caloric deficit and am tracking every macro religiously.

What tips would you give to beginners or someone looking to start MMA?

Just get involved. It is a lot less intimidating than you think. Find a good gym and take that first step, that’s how I and everyone else started.

Where will John Mitchell be in 5 years time?

Five years time? UFC or Bellator!

I’ve known John for several years now. He was the first friend I made on our first day in college. I’ve watched John transition from a highly talked about boxer into the new terrain of the MMA world, and slowly take control of it. What you see is what you get with Mitchell. A hard working, committed and self-driven athlete who naturally can manifest his visions into reality.

He talked about “consistency over passion”, but I feel it’s only fair to note that John is one of the most passionate fighters I’ve met. Eating, training and fighting are daily rituals that he lives and breathes, and are, what I believe to be the key to his success thus far. He lived in Thailand for a period in 2016, training in fight camps and learning the sport of Thai kickboxing from those who have been training and teaching all their lives.

I’ve cooked a meal or two for John in our college days, and he’s not afraid to eat! On one occasion, as I was preparing a salmon dinner (for myself let me add), John snuck into my flat, picked the fillet out of the oven with his bare hands and fled the scene, running and laughing down the road with my salmon fillet in his hand. He’s lucky he ran that day… you don’t mess with me and my food, irregardless of how many belts you’ve won.

The future is very promising for John. He’s story is a great example to anyone thinking or considering starting MMA, or a new sport in general. You certainly don’t have to be training all your life, or start from the age of six. As he said, taking the initial step to join a gym will be the biggest one. Everything after will fall into place with the help and guidance of coaches and staff.

Thank you to John for the interview, and be sure to keep up to date with his social medias where he is active posting training clips and upcoming fight fixtures.

Remember the name folks.

--

--

Eoin Sheehan
The Con
Writer for

Irish Foodie and Youtuber. Photo, Video and write everything Food and Health related. Making the World a Healthier Place, One Recipe at a Time.