Living on a Waffle

Lara Kline
The Confluent
Published in
2 min readAug 15, 2022

Walk with me as I give myself a pep talk.

Photo by Slashio Photography on Unsplash

Feeling both IN and OUT of the flow today. Living on a waffle. Trying to make the big good sing a little stronger than the big doubt. Let’s do this.

Do you ever feel like you’re living on a waffle? Do you just waffle back and forth between capable and incapacitated? Samesies. It’s hard to be authentically anything when what’s real doesn’t feel the same from day to day. So much noise, am I right?

Or maybe I’m just talking to the abyss, and no one can relate… oh well. I have to talk about it though.

It’s okay to not get as much done as you had planned, right? We are spiritual beings having a human experience…. and part of being a human is not being ON all the time. But, like, what is balance? What is good, healthy balance look like? I’m generally an all or nothing kind of person… and if I don’t sense the “all” right away, I tend to fall back down to “nothing.” This pattern hasn’t exactly helped me accomplish many goals so far. But I’m working on it. And that’s something.

I love the direction my life is taking. I love where I am and where I’ve been. I’m surrounded by love and support and abundance. I’m working on being present for it. Because I honestly have no idea how I got here. On the wings of breezes… that’s the best way I can describe it. The trick, I think, is to harness THAT greatness but find your own strengths and use them as sails… that way, you can ride on the wings of breezes but also move in directions that suit your story. I jumped off the breeze somewhere along the way, then got really lost on solid ground. Then I learned some things down here! And now I’m looking up and jumping. I have my sails now! Lift me back up, Breeze!

Will I recognize the breeze? I will feel it. I might be starting to feel it now… the trick is to remember what that feels like and continue to practice what I’ve learned. It’s all AND it’s nothing… We are so capable all the time… even when we’re feeling incapacitated. It might feel like we’re living on a waffle, and maybe we are. It’s everything, but it’s also its opposite. The law of polarity says that if we feel 30 degrees less than zero, that’s equal to being 30 degrees greater than zero. Everything just is, says Einstein. If you’re sleeping now, that doesn’t mean you’re missing an opportunity. It just means you’re sleeping. Embrace where you’re at. You got this.

--

--