How To Master Your Ability To Manage Stress

Bringing attention to the way you breathe will transform your life

Richard Husseiny
The Conscious Life Collective

--

It seems so counterintuitive to discuss and focus on our breathing. We do it every moment of everyday of our lives. Yet what I’ve come to realise from both a physiological perspective and an actual practice, is that taking control of my breath is one of the most profound practices I have access to. This knowledge is not new, the yogi’s and mystics have known this for thousands of years. Yet we are now at an age where modern science and spirituality are converging, not competing, which provides access to these ancient practices for a more orthodox and wider audience.

Ironically for the majority of my 16 year career as an Olympic level performance coach, I was completely unaware of the power of breath. For me I came to realise the power of breath from a place of grief. Breath control can calm anxiety, relieve stress, sharpen your focus, send you to sleep or send you into an array of deep and healing non-ordinary states. This article is going to explain the basics of managing your ability to deal with stress.

Our Amazing Nervous System

The autonomic nervous system (ANS) is the part of the nervous system that controls the body’s internal functions, including heart rate…

--

--

Richard Husseiny
The Conscious Life Collective

I help senior performance staff realign their personal needs with the demands of their career