4 Things I Wish My Parents Had Told Me

#1 You have the right to say no.

Patrícia Williams
The Conscious Way

--

Photo by Gahan N Rao on Unsplash

Growing up in an enmeshed, emotionally immature family has affected my life and my personality in many ways.

People-pleasing. Unhealthy relationships. Unstable friendships. Constant repression of emotions. It all stems from a childhood where I never felt unconditionally loved, accepted, or supported.

Unfortunately, I know I’m not alone. I know many people relate to my experience and know what it’s like to grow up with parents who are not able to give us the love we crave and deserve.

Here are the 4 things I wish my parents had told me.

1. You have the right to say no.

I wish my parents had taught me that I deserve to set boundaries and stand up for myself.

Instead, my father’s emotional instability made me feel responsible for his well-being. As a child, I believed it was my job to make him feel comfortable and fulfill his needs.

When we grow up in environments that punish our self-expression or dismiss our authenticity, we learn that it’s not safe for us to be assertive and genuine. As a consequence, we say yes to everything, hoping we’ll temporarily feel loved and accepted.

2. Your emotional needs…

--

--

Patrícia Williams
The Conscious Way

Sharing my healing & awakening journey to make you feel a little less alone on yours ✧ https://linktr.ee/patriciaswilliams