Fearful-Avoidant Attachment: Everything You Need To Know

The signs, the causes, and how to heal.

Patrícia Williams
The Conscious Way

--

Photo by Serafima Lazarenko on Unsplash

As someone who used to have a fearful-avoidant attachment style, I know very well how messy relationships can be when you’re terrified of closeness and intimacy yet crave it at the same time.

I believed self-sufficiency was my best trait. I prided myself on my independence and I pushed away everyone that I perceived as a threat to my self-reliant, unrestrained lifestyle.

However, deep down, I was craving love and affection. I’d anxiously chase emotionally unavailable partners, yet I’d close myself off to mature, secure individuals.

If you relate to my experience, you probably have a fearful-avoidant attachment style. Also called disorganized or anxious-avoidant, this attachment style is the most difficult type of insecure attachment, as it leads us to avoid the very relationships we crave.

I’m here to tell you everything you need to know.

The Signs of A Disorganized Attachment In Adult Relationships

Adults with a disorganized attachment style lack a coherent approach towards relationships. These are the main signs:

  • In your perception, hurt, rejection, abandonment…

--

--