We Need To Stop Minimizing Small, “Unimportant” Traumas

Trauma can come in many forms.

Patrícia Williams
The Conscious Way

--

Photo by Motoki Tonn on Unsplash

In my healing journey, I’ve become aware of several “small traumas” I’ve developed since I was a child.

But sooner or later, I’d always think “This is nothing. So many people have it way worse than I do. I should be grateful for what I have.”

Why? Because when we talk about trauma, we tend to think about major catastrophic events that cause deep psychological wounds. War, sexual violence, accidents, domestic abuse or natural disasters. And yes, those are some of the most harrowing experiences one can endure.

But what about the not-so-obvious trauma? That small, silent trauma that influences so many spheres of your life, without you even noticing?

Trauma Can Come In Many Forms

Trauma can come in many forms.

It can come in the form of an emotionally immature parent who’s not able to accept you for who you are, and instead projects their fears and insecurities onto you.

It can come in the form of a parent who cannot regulate their own emotions — which creates an extremely unstable, chaotic environment where you don’t feel safe to express yourself.

--

--

Patrícia Williams
The Conscious Way

Sharing my healing & awakening journey to make you feel a little less alone on yours ✧ https://linktr.ee/patriciaswilliams