Frank Frazetta 1928–2010

Pedro
The Constant
Published in
1 min readMay 12, 2010

Frank Frazetta, the legendary fantasy artist, died a couple of days ago. He worked for the pulp paperback industry and did covers for Conan and Tarzan and many more. From The Beat article:

«Frazetta’s imagery of brawny, relentless swordsmen, seductive, fleshy sirens and hellfire breathing monsters had a gut level impact because it came from the gut»

I remember the animated film “Fire and Ice” (1983), a collaboration between Frank Frazetta and Ralph Bakshi. It had great character animation achieved through rotoscoping techniques. I found the characters’ movement amazing the first time I watched it.

Though I’m not a big fan, I recognize the talent and the impact his body of work had in fantasy illustration.

--

--