I Don’t Use the Word Productive

The $11 billion dollar self-help industry will follow along too.

Denisa Blackwood
The ContraVersion

--

Image by lumix2004 from Pixabay.

I admit this article is coming from a place of anger. This is not anger caused by or directed at people whose aim is to be “productive”, nor at the gurus and creators who make a business out of helping them. Rather, this piece of commentary stems from the normalisation of basing your self-worth on how productive you are.

I was speaking with one of my long-time mentors recently, and they said something that pleased me. They said it as a lighthearted remark, perhaps jokingly: “You know, I never hear you speak about your productivity goals. I can’t decide if that is good or bad”. At that, I could not contain my smile.

“It’s neither good nor bad. Though what it is, is intentional.”

I never use the word productive to describe my work and habits. And I avoid it intentionally. I get raised eyebrows every time I say this, and you might be a little skeptic too. I take the skepticism at my decision as a sign that I am surrounded by ambitious, hard-working people who are set on achieving their goals and improving their lives. However, I started noticing that an attack on the concept of “productivity” in casual conversation usually strikes a nerve.

--

--

Denisa Blackwood
The ContraVersion

Scientist based in London. I write about tech, science, society and mental health. For collaborations, get in touch at denisa.blackwood [at]protonmail[dot]com