3 Best Baking Cookbooks

For the weekend baker to the aspiring patissier.

Dave Tan
The CookBook for all

--

Author’s cookbook collection. The photo was taken by the author.

I can never get enough baking cookbooks, and they kept piling up on my bookshelves over the years. I just simply cannot resist the urge to collect another one of those baking gems every few months. It is one of those few good problems in modern life.

I have quite a collection of baking cookbooks and have read a number of them. The books range from french pastry techniques to classic American baking and even Japanese baking techniques. However, because of my passion for desserts and my sweet tooth, I realized I kind of left off bread baking in my suggestions. That is why the French separate it into two different types of disciplines, Boulangerie, which is bread baking and Patisserie, which is dessert and pastry baking. Sorry in advance, bread bakers!

Below are some of my personal favorites. If you have a keen interest in which books best serve as a guide to bake desserts and pastry or you have a sweet tooth like me, read on!

Author’s cookbook. The photo was taken by the author.

For the Weekend Baker

Momofuku Milk Bar by Christina Tosi is a modern American baking classic. I was introduced to…

--

--

Dave Tan
The CookBook for all

Minimalist. Cook. Always searching for chicken hearts in izakayas.