Baked Flour Tortillas Add Crunch to Your Fish Tacos

Orrin Onken
The CookBook for all
4 min readAug 23, 2022

--

Three Fish Tacos: Tacos and Photo by Orrin Onken

This take on fish tacos began when I watched an episode of Chef John in which he makes puffy fish tacos.

In the video, Chef John opines that a little more crunch could improve most fish tacos. I have made a lot of fish tacos at my house, and they are great, but I had to agree with him. Make some fish, prepare some slaw and toppings, then wrap it all in a hot or even charred tortilla and you have a good taco. But if there were just a little more crunch, it would be even better.

I can get crunch by deep frying my fish, and anything coated in batter and deep fried is great. But I make fish tacos far more often than I have the gumption to deep fry.

Chef John coats both sides of a six-inch diameter flour tortilla with a small amount of oil, places the fish on one side of the oiled tortilla, and puts the whole thing on parchment paper on a sheet pan in a 500 degree oven. In seven minutes, the fish is cooked and the tortilla is crispy but still bendable. Amazing. Bend the tortillas into a taco shape over the now-cooked fish, add toppings of your choice and you are ready.

The crisped tortilla doesn’t add tons of crunch, but enough to make me go that route more and more often when I have a choice how I am going to prepare the tortilla.

--

--

Orrin Onken
The CookBook for all

I am a retired elder law attorney who lives near Portland, Oregon. I write legal mysteries for Salish Ponds Press and articles about being old.