Delicious Spaghetti Sauce Without The Added Salt

Kevin L. Knights
The CookBook for all
3 min readMay 23, 2022

--

And no added sugar either.

On spaghetti and ready to dig into, photo by the author Kevin L. Knights

I’ve always loved spaghetti with meaty tomato sauce. I’ve probably eaten miles of spaghetti by now, and hopefully will get in at least as many more miles before I’m done. Until recently, I’d usually just gone with sauce out of a jar for ease and convenience. Add some ground beef, maybe a little extra mushroom, onions, or garlic to boost it a bit, and I was good to go.

There’s one primary problem with the jar sauces. Salt. They have a lot of salt added, and that’s become a health concern in our household. We’re working to cut back, so I set about compiling a sauce of my own without the salt added. And I made sure to spice it up so it’s not bland. Far from that, it’s really flavorful. I’m told that it’s better tasting than the stuff out of the jar. Win!

Another plus to this recipe is the lack of extra sugar. Pretty much all of the mainstream brands, and most of the specialty ones, have added sugar. We don’t need that. And it’s not missed here.

This isn’t as easy as dumping out a jar, but it’s not too much work. It does still have the shortcut of canned tomatoes.

It makes quite a bit: two big servings plus extra to put away as leftovers to refrigerate for the next day or two, or to the freezer for longer storage.

--

--

Kevin L. Knights
The CookBook for all

I love to cook and of course eat the results, write, work out, shoot pool, throw darts, and watch horror and science fiction.