Excellent Apple Muffins

Kevin L. Knights
The CookBook for all
2 min readMay 20, 2022

--

With apple and raisins, you won’t miss the added sweetener.

Cooling on the rack, photo by the author Kevin L. Knights

All too often, a search for healthy muffins — or any healthy baked goods, will return results that are full of wholesome ingredients. But they’ve substituted maple syrup, honey, agave syrup, molasses, and so forth instead of sugar. That might be marginally healthier than pure processed sugar, but it’s still a lot of added sweetener.

In Kevin’s Experimental Kitchen, I was thinking that apple muffins sounded really good. So I took a different recipe I’d already come up with and modified it. First try, and it was a success! I like them and so does my husband. A winner!

I hesitate to outright call them healthy muffins. How about way healthier muffins compared to many others. They are dairy-free, have a little fiber, and don’t have any added sweeteners. Most importantly they are really, really good.

Ingredients:

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 large eggs

1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

--

--

Kevin L. Knights
The CookBook for all

I love to cook and of course eat the results, write, work out, shoot pool, throw darts, and watch horror and science fiction.