DIY Food #2: How to make Hummus at Home in 3 Steps

Aditya Darekar
The CookBook for all
3 min readMar 20, 2022

If there’s one reason I’m thankful for the Study(Work)-From-Home concept during the pandemic, it’s for all the new skills and interests that have stimulated my rather plodding soul. One of these skills was cooking. I decided to re-invent some dishes, after being bored with all of the simple meals, which I had to eat three times a day for 365 days in a row during the lockdown…, or simply recreate what I used to eat before the epidemic.

So, yeah, it’s time to make Hummus today. And before you dismiss this as yet another Indian attempting to recreate an Arab dish, let me assure you that I have tasted Hummus in an Arab country (Kuwait), so I was more of a critic myself while tasting it for the first time, and I wouldn’t have brought it to you if I hadn’t enjoyed it. Because I couldn’t travel during the endless lockdowns, the only option for me to re-savor this dish was to make it at home. So, without further ado, let’s get started on the ingredient we’ll need:

INGREDIENTS:

  1. Tahini Sauce (x5 Tablespoon)
  2. Garlic Cloves (x4 Cloves)
  3. Chickpea (about 500g)
  4. Salt (x2 teaspoon)
  5. Lemon Juice (from about 3lemons)
  6. Olive Oil (~2 teaspoons)
  7. Black Pepper (to taste)
  8. Coriander (for presentation)
  9. Pita Bread (optional)

STEPS:

  1. You first need to blend the following ingredients in a blender: Chickpea, Garlic cloves, Salt and Tahini sauce. Keep some chickpeas aside for the final dressing. If blending all at once, add all the lemon juice; alternatively, keep adding lemon juice in little increments until the pureed chickpeas and garlic cloves create a thick paste-like consistency.
  2. Transfer the mixture to a serving platter and spread it out in a circular motion. As seen in the image, spread the hummus in a way that creates a hollow divide to the edges and towards the middle.

3. With this kind of concentric region, we can then add our olive oil in similar concentric circles. Garnish it with half-cut chickpeas, black pepper, and coriander, as you wish to present.

Voila! Hummus is now ready. You can either eat it with a spoon or go the Arab-way and order some Khaboos. The closest that comes to Khaboos is pita-bread and you are sure to find those in a nearby supermarket. Just heat them on a pan or in an oven and you are good to go!

Hope this was a fun experience for you! In my opinion, the hummus I made was about 98% close to the taste of Hummus I had back in Kuwait. I guess either I felt sort of garlic cloves on the day I made it, which is why I decided to mention more than necessary in this post along with lemon juice concentration that needs to be wary according to the thickness of the final paste from the blender.

If you decide to make this at home or have already done so, please let me know how it went in the comments section below, and let’s have our Hummus conversation.

~Aditya Darekar

Other Similar Posts you might like:

--

--

Aditya Darekar
The CookBook for all

23 | IT Graduate | Tech Enthusiast | I love to write about Apple Tech and how I use it for leading a healthier, happier and productive life ⌚️💻📱