Recipe

Make Sourdough Apple Bombs Instead of Traditional Pie

A new way to use fall’s favorite fruit and sourdough discard!

Patricia Davis
The CookBook for all
5 min readNov 12, 2020

--

This apple bomb is ready for proofing—photo by author.

Recently, my niece posted an amazing recipe on Facebook for Caramel Apple Bombs. This recipe called for a can of biscuits, canned apple pie filling, and a Brach’s caramel square. They looked yummy. Since I have been experimenting with adapting various recipes to use my sourdough starter discard, I decided to adapt this one, too.

I thought I love how sourdough pie crust tastes with apple pie; it will definitely taste amazing with Apple Bombs. After researching several biscuit recipes, I came up with this amazing recipe for the biscuit dough.

After experimenting a bit, I learned that sourdough biscuit dough needs support during the rise-time, so the biscuits (or, in this case, Apple Bombs) must be close enough together to prevent them from spreading and flattening while they rise. My first attempt, although it tasted wonderful, did just that.

--

--

Patricia Davis
The CookBook for all

Pat blogs about food, sustainability, and living simply. Sourdough is a particular passion. She also writes historical fiction with social justice themes.