Welcome Fall With This Comforting and Easy Slow-Cooker Lentil Soup

A perfect one-pot meal to usher in cooler temps.

Patricia Joseph
The CookBook for all

--

Slow-Cooker Lentil Soup
Photo credit: P. Joseph

I’m ecstatic that the most wonderful time of year has finally arrived! No, I’m not referring to Christmas. But, the season of slow-cooker and one-pot meals that home cooks like me have waited for all year. There’s no better way to welcome the cooler temps than a hearty and warm bowl of soup like lentils.

I kickstart my fall cooking season, after the arrival of Labor Day, when memories of summer start to fade. I search the web and flip through magazines looking for the perfect recipe. Then, I realize that my tried-and-true lentil soup recipe requires little effort, which is why I like making this soup at the start of the season.

I start preparation for my first soup of the season early — taking stock of all my ingredients, so I’m fully prepared. I anxiously pull-out my slow-cooker to inspect from lack of use, since the last fall cooking season.

On the day of preparation, the slow-cooker is set in its usual spot on the counter, as in previous seasons. Then, it’s time to rinse the lentils and prep the vegetables for a 2-hour slow and simmering cook.

Like a mother hen watching over her young, I check the lentils every so often as they soften and cook to…

--

--

Patricia Joseph
The CookBook for all

Wife, mother, healthy lifestyle lover, and blogger. I’m inspired to write about moments in life that move me!