How to Make a Smoothie

I am entirely baffled by the smoothie business.

Julie Moreno
The Cooking Survival Guide

--

There are websites wholly devoted to making smoothies. Companies that will ship you perfectly proportioned frozen ingredients for a not-so-healthy cost. And $300 blenders that let you can crush ice in an instant.

I can’t understand how a whole industry has been created to use up ripe fruit to make a quick snack. I know. I’m in the wrong business.

There is nothing special about blending up frozen fruits and vegetables. You don’t even need a specific recipe.

Smoothies are the perfect place to learn how to experiment in the kitchen. You can combine fruits together and find out what you like best.

I am convinced that if freezers and blenders existed 200 years ago, no one would bother preserving fruit any other way besides the freezer.

Smoothies are an easy way to make a healthy treat and to get more vitamins into your diet.

Save your ripe fruit and save money, make them yourself, and make them to your own taste.

So, let’s go over the basics.

The Blender

I have a $30 Oster blender that I have been using for many, many years. You don’t need an expensive blender. Because the Oster has worked so…

--

--