Harlem Shaking It Up!

Rosi Sellers
The Cool Kitch
Published in
3 min readNov 12, 2019

--

Harlem has been going through a restaurant boom for the last decade and it’s safe to say that Harlem Shake has continued to lead the pack.

Harlem Shake: 124th and Lenox Ave

The restaurant has been a staple on Lenox Ave/Malcolm X Blvd, one of the most popular avenues in the neighborhood, since 2013. While a slew of restaurants has come and gone, Harlem Shake has continued to thrive adding more customers and becoming more popular year after year.

The decor is reminiscent of a 1950’s Diner. My favorite part of the restaurant’s interior is undoubtedly the Wall of Fame. The Wall of Fame (which has now spread to cover 2 walls) is a mix of over 100 famous/notable supporters of Harlem Shakes. The walls features signed pictures of some of my favs including actress Regina King, restaurateur Marcus Samuelson and Harlem’s own ASAP Rocky.

When the restaurant first opened, I didn’t eat beef. Though they have a turkey burger option, it took me a while to try something. The first thing I tried was their Vermont Cheddar Cheese Bliss made with spicy chipotle-molasses-tomato spread, tomato, cilantro and red onion on sourdough bread. It quickly became my go-to. Unfortunately, it’s not on the menu at the moment so I’ve been…

--

--

Rosi Sellers
The Cool Kitch

I write about marketing, hospitality and food. My view are my own 🙃