Likely side effects of the first dose of Covid-19 vaccination (Pfizer)

What to expect after your first dose of the Covid-19 vaccine (mostly focused around the Pfizer vaccine), as per CDC and personal experience!

Ashly
The Corona Log
3 min readApr 27, 2021

--

I had the wonderful opportunity to finally receive my very first dose of the Pfizer Covid-19 vaccination recently. Needless to say, I simply cannot wait to receive the second dose! This article mainly refers to the side effects that both my family, friends and I have endured personally.

I’m not a medical professional, so if you’re looking for answers to certain questions regarding the vaccine or have already received the vaccine and are facing side effects that may be ‘out of the ordinary’ please contact your healthcare provider or PCP.

Photo by CDC from Pexels

1. Fever

A rise in body temperature was something that a lot of us faced a day after receiving the vaccine.

2. Fatigue

Tiredness, sleepiness, exhaustion, and fatigue were the most common side effects that almost all of us had to go through for almost 2–3 days of receiving the vaccine.

3. Nausea

I personally felt nauseous the morning after receiving the vaccine which even hindered me from going to work!

4. Diarrhea

Funnily enough, diarrhea is not one of the symptoms that I frankly was expecting. It scared me a lot especially since I hadn’t eaten out or had any other ‘questionable’ food. However, through thorough research, I actually found that diarrhea was actually a side effect that a lot of people went through post their first dose. It subsided within 2 days though.

5. Body pain

The absolute worst! Severe headache and joint pains began for most of us almost within a day of receiving the vaccine.

6. Swelling and pain at the injection site

Pain at the area where I received the shot was something that I was expecting? But not to the extent that it actually was. I, unfortunately, slept on my arm where I got shot, which made the pain even worse. The swelling mostly went down within a day, however, the pain took almost 2–3 days to alleviate. Some people also noticed a little itchiness at the injection site.

Photo by cottonbro from Pexels

If you’re about to have to first shot and are scrambling on the internet to look for possible side effects? Don’t worry! However, consult your doctor before getting the vaccine in case you have certain problems, as, in some situations, it may do you more harm than good. If you have no medical problems or have a thumbs up from your doctor to receive the vaccine, absolutely go for it! If you’re in America, almost all sites have paramedics on the spot in case you have any immediate or life-threatening effects.

The CDC recommends drinking lots of fluids and ample amounts of resting. This, certainly helped me a lot. Don’t let these side effects scare you from getting the vaccine. Most side effects are a good thing! It’s your body’s immune system kicking in and simply doing its job!

--

--

Ashly
The Corona Log

A conversationalist on concepts ranging from music, true crime to science. she/her