A Poem About a Dog

Or is it? Use the pictures to find out.

Luke Copko
The Cotton Thread
2 min readJul 13, 2020

--

My dog, Reagan, has no grace at all.
He bolts past my feat
and tries to beat me down the hall,
but can’t stop in time for the corners,
and crashes from wall to wall.

My dog can’t get enough of me, I suppose.
He watches me as I garden.
Drinks taste better from the hose!
Then tries to rub his face on me,
water dripping from jowls and nose.

He loves to go on trips with me.
We call them our adventures.
Our favorite is the beach, where we romp by the sea.
At times he’ll join me on the hammock.
What better dog could he be?

I worry about him growing old. His face is turning white.
What other changes might occur?
Will he start to forget our faces? Or start to lose his sight?
Will he stay sleeping in the corner
instead of joining us in the night?

Of course I love my Reagan, he makes my heart stand tall.
He touches our hearts much deeper
Much more than fetching a stick or ball.
For all the ways I love him,
It’s the smile he gives you I love most of all.

This story was published in The Cotton Thread — weaving life with words. If you want to be a writer in our publication, click here.

--

--

Luke Copko
The Cotton Thread

An entrepreneur, author, and business professional who studied psychology. Growth is all that matters.