Drowning In My Mind

Radhika Tara Kali
The Cotton Thread
Published in
2 min readOct 5, 2019
Watercolor by Radha Chetna Laxhmi ©

They rise up all around me
In my own mind
I’m drowning
My eyes are shut
Won’t open
My mouth is filled with
Unspoken
things

The vines wrap around my limbs
Like shackles
I am drowning in filthy things
They probe and prod and sink in deep
Nightmares
My thoughts
And dirty dreams

They wind around my heart
Fuse with my cells
Spread across my blood
As they crawl inside my veins

In the corners, they hide
Beloved monsters, deep inside
All the shadows, no respite
Anywhere I go
They’ll find me

Like all pretty things, I’m haunted
For a night, what everyone wanted
As the sun rose in the sky
Midnight creatures didn’t die

The stage is set, there are floodlights
Its where the monsters lurk and creep

I woke up from the nightmares
But my nightmares woke with me

There’s comfort in silence
So I close my eyes
Fall in deep

La la la la
La la la la
la la la la
la la la

~

© Radha Chetna Laxhmi. All Rights Reserved.

Written in response to prompt “ Voices” for The Cotton Thread Publication.

This story was published in The Cotton Thread — weaving life with words. If you want to be a writer in our publication, click here.

--

--

Radhika Tara Kali
The Cotton Thread

Bisexual. Polyamorous. Cis-woman. Also, I’m Slytherclaw.