Fragile Boat

Shobha Roy
The Cotton Thread
Published in
1 min readSep 11, 2019

--

Photo by Mitodru Ghosh on Unsplash

Reminiscing the old days,
When all the emotions my heart carried for him,
Were expressed on a meager piece of paper,
Creasing the corners of the paper,
I gave it the shape of a boat,
Enclosed it inside books,
And often exchanged our boats.

But with the advent of monsoon,
Where streets are inundated with water,
Trapped inside the house,
I yearned for his love-letter boats,
Sitting on the porch, I crafted letter boats for him,
Waited for the water to drain,
Impatiently, started floating the boats.

They were so fragile,
Some would float, and some would sink in the rain,
The boats were so filled with emotion,
That all the letters the water carried for him,
Smudged completely in a jiffy.

This story was published in The Cotton Thread — weaving life with words. If you want to be a writer in our publication, visit the page below

--

--

Shobha Roy
The Cotton Thread

Stay At Home Mom Writer. I love to write about food, travel, parenting, and poetry. Follow me on https://www.linkedin.com/in/shobha-roy-a2361033/