Grandmother Chili Pepper

The Healing

Sylph Hemery
The Cotton Thread

--

Photo by Persnickety Prints/ Unsplash

I am down, way down.
My life has run out
Of sun, moon and stars,
Leaving me blank black.

My three old aunts push me.
“You need to go see
Grandmother Chili Pepper.
She’ll fix ya good.”

“Bring her baker’s chocolate.
She makes choco-chili bars.”
Go now!
I do. No saying “no” to aunties.

My quaking hand knocks.
The dirt brown door opens.
A small, round woman
Smiles up to me, hand out.

She yanks me inside her one room
Decorated by drying chili peppers.
“You let yourself get too cold inside.
No dance. No song,” she says.

“Just icy, clean work, work, work.
You are almost frozen over.
Life flow is stuck in the snow.
Sit!”

Steamy chili pepper broth
Is put in front of me.
“Drink!”
I brace myself as I do.

--

--

Sylph Hemery
The Cotton Thread

Poems and stories are my breath. Listening with my heart is my work.