Hope, Tomorrow

A Poem

Mia Lai
The Cotton Thread
2 min readFeb 24, 2020

--

Image: Owned by me

Today my dad is hospitalized

Yesterday I heard my friend’s cousin went missing
they found his bike burnt in the side of the road

Today, I am afraid of what is happening

Yesterday, I heard somebody’s store was broken into
Yesterday, they broke in our house, and yesterday and yesterday
Yesterday, they broke my car’s window and took my bag
stole my MacBook, iPad, camera, external hard-drive, and money
Yesterday, they tried to use my stolen card
Yesterday, I was afraid

Today, I can only trust in You

Through the chaos of life, I have only seen things getting worse
The hometown that was deemed safe, is no longer
Media does not even report atrocities for fear
Shootings have become a norm
As residents, we live in fear but hope for a better tomorrow
We don’t know,
But if hope is lost, what do we have to hold on to

Today, I live in the same city
Tomorrow, I will come back
Yesterday is no more.

This story was published in The Cotton Thread — weaving life with words. If you want to be a writer in our publication, click here.

--

--

Mia Lai
The Cotton Thread

Thoughts that keep me awake at daytime, wondering, pondering, invading the time I should be using otherwise.