Our Journey

A Poem

Mia Lai
The Cotton Thread
2 min readMar 6, 2020

--

Image: Permission to publish obtained by ‘Tomorrow Gallery’

I tend to forget that you love me
that you care about me

Blinded by my own fears
I forget that your love beats my insecurities

Even through all of it
I still take you for granted
Because I know that Your love is given
That you won’t change easily

I remember I loved You
I cared about You
You were my greatest gift and my best friend

Life and time tore You apart from me
Better said,
My own passions and selfishness
Drove me away from You

After years I remembered I missed You
When all those who said they loved me had left me
Naked,
Wounded,
and Bleeding

You still took me in Your arms
Told me I was loved
That You never forgot
That we could start over again
That is not too late

Our love has been a journey
Not an easy one
Not a fairy-tale
But you still bring harps into my daily life

It’s okay to take it slow
To take it one step at a time
Because it's our journey
and nobody else’s.

This story was published in The Cotton Thread — weaving life with words. If you want to be a writer in our publication, click here.

--

--

Mia Lai
The Cotton Thread

Thoughts that keep me awake at daytime, wondering, pondering, invading the time I should be using otherwise.