Thanksgiving

Shobha Roy
The Cotton Thread
Published in
2 min readNov 8, 2019

--

A poem

Photo by Pro Church Media on Unsplash

Halloween pumpkins turning into pumpkin pies,
Cranberry sauce adding colors in the kitchen,
The aroma of the roasted juicy turkey,
Is enough to say that Thanksgiving has arrived,

I am thankful to God for giving me an opportunity,
To explore with my own eyes the beauty of nature,
I am thankful for the beautiful Fall,
Which makes me dive deep into reds, oranges, and greens.

I am thankful for the beaches He created,
Where I can calm myself by listening to the crashing waves,
I am thankful for breathing the fresh air,
That refreshes me when I am tired.

I am thankful for the birds that sing, and the scampering squirrels,
The rustling leaves, and streams that run over rocks,
I am thankful to God for these incredible gifts of nature,
I mark my calendar to remember,
That Thanksgiving falls on the fourth Thursday of November.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Thursday Poetry Prompt: Thank you!

Our Thursday Poetry prompt is to write a poem of thanks as Thanksgiving day is around the corner. Tag your piece “Thursday Poetry Prompt” and “The Cotton Thread” and the other three tags can be of your choice. You can find our latest prompts on the Thursday Poetry Prompt page. We will be looking forward to your responses.

This story was published in The Cotton Thread — weaving life with words. If you want to be a writer in our publication, click here.

--

--

Shobha Roy
The Cotton Thread

Stay At Home Mom Writer. I love to write about food, travel, parenting, and poetry. Follow me on https://www.linkedin.com/in/shobha-roy-a2361033/