writing !oh my beloved can’t help coming back to you

Dr Bhupesh Gupta
The Cotton Thread
Published in
2 min readOct 29, 2019
credit:Anubhav Roy / Dreamstime

Sometimes I feel like the one

pulled onto the dance floor by someone

shaking a leg against my will

my body and mind visibly ill

everyone around me intoxicated hiding their pain

I have mine but don’t want to do the same

every now and then I look over my duality

to see you standing at the edge of reality

dressed in imagination and spirituality

running to you makes you disappear

running away makes you appear

been in this hide and seek game for long

to know that to carry you along

have to sit seemingly alone

focus on the invisible and muffled

to get my jittery fingers jotting

and squeezing to get a trickle

soon you pop up naive and fresh

flowing into unchartered territory

leaving me immersed in ecstatic nectar

know can’t add to your stature

but without you I am a statue

have no desire to get you

only make myself deserve you

as with getting comes the fear of losing

so have to jump on the trampoline every day

and get so high one day

that gravity loses its hold on me

and then ill move in you like you

being part of the orderly chaos this universe is

without being part of the orderly chaos this world is

This story was published in The Cotton Thread — weaving life with words. If you want to be a writer in our publication, click here.

--

--