--

It’s been a while since I’ve written a blog post. Oops. As the semester comes to an end, I am finally able to reflect on these last few weeks of Creative Founder. As team PL8’s did their final push before pitch day, it was a scramble of confidence, uncertainty, and (end of the semester) insanity. An exhilarating mix of feelings. Looking back on on everything I have accomplished in this class, though, I am beyond satisfied with all that I have learned and achieved.

I remember having a split between two class in the beginning. I was hesitant to commit to this class. “Will I be able to handle the work load during this semester?” “Do I have the skills to make a successful business?” These types of questions ran through my mind as I was making my decision. I remember creating a list of things I wanted to get out of this class before I was even in it.

-Learn how to work through difficult problems with my team

-Learn how to facilitate a work session.

-Work with a group that I respect and am eager to learn from.

-Presentation skills.

For most people who have been through CF, building a successful product is not usually on the list of take aways. And that’s something I really admire in hindsight. Similar to what Christina said in the beginning, “It’s learning that is important in this class, not producing a successful product.” And that rang true throughout the class.

The final pitch really solidified all of my learning. During it, I could feel my confidence in my speaking skills, I could feel the confidence in my team, and our reliance with each other, we had the data and research to pitch an important product. Despite the outcome of the pitch and unnecessary disapproval from the panel of judges, I feel I have left this class with an ocean of skills that I can use to further share, refine, and communicate my idea’s with others, as well as amplifying others’ ideas so that they’re heard and validated with the team. Many argue that Interaction Design is just facilitation between other designs and designers, and from this class, I feel capable of taking a role like that as I move on to more tangible projects, and more difficult team members.

I never published these notes (sorry, grade!) but I wrote them during the final two weeks of this class. As I read back on them (and my previous blog posts once I am able to let all my learning from the semester settle in place), It’s amusing to visualize the state of the team. I sounds slightly frantic, almost frustrated with the state of Buildingblocks. Throughout the whole semester, I think a hint of that lingered. Frantic I wouldn’t learn what I wanted to before joining, frantic I wasn’t doing my best in the middle, and frantic we wouldn’t have everything ready in the end.

“we need to fix the separation of our brand. everything is all over the place and we just need to tie the strings together.

for our pitch deck, we need to really understand and convey the need people say they have for a tool like this. “i really should be prepared but i’M NOT.”

the biggest question I fear were going to be hounded on is “so what, I have this tool but my neighbors still won’t care” or “how actionable have you made this idea”

It is hard to put this into action as it doesn’t occur in a few hours like a home chef or a design tutor might, but a yearly durational, habitual experience of feeling ready for a disaster. We may have resources to help get people started, but nothing about our service creates drive or urgency to come back or have an incentive.”

Creative Founder is something that I will recommend to everyone in the future. It’s true, I’ve been furious, sympathetic, honest, I’ve cried, I’ve facilitated, I’ve procrastinated, and I’ve left my comfort zone. From my experience, as a college student, this class isn’t the right choice if you’re looking to make a new startup. That lovely idea is like a house of chance, supported by a large foundation of empathy. If you join this class and think you can build a house without anything to hold it up, it will sink and crumble, and you will watch in sink and crumble. I’ve witnessed successful techniques from many individuals in this class on successful empathy, and it is truly the difference between getting something out of this and not, No matter how many written notes or drafts of your SOM, SAM, and TAM you make. A strong foundation almost builds the house itself, and I will leave the Creative Founder knowing that.

--

--