Lesson Learned Blog Post ( The creative founder )

It’s too fast. I still remember when Kate showed a spreadsheet of team distribution, At that time we felt relief and a little bit funny because three of us are roommates. That is how our story begins, we thought everything will be really go smoothly.

I still have to say, this course is tough not only it’s group-setting but also it’s a semester long project. I had an intern during the last summer, at that time, it’s my first time to get in touch with product management, I remember at that time marketing strategies really interested me. So in Creative founder, I tried to learn more about business thinking, it is really interesting and powerful. Marketing is an important way to promote my design to more people and benefit their life.

Even though our teammates are open to each other and willing to communicate, we still had struggled when we were thinking whether should we pivot because we were no longer passionate about our users ( illustrators and art directors ). It is hard because we had been working on this for half of the semester. I know I had a lot of negative emotions at that time, which influenced our whole team. But it’s just if we keep working on our original idea, I can feel my passion and interest keep vanishing, I was no longer love what I was doing. If our product couldn't even convince me, then nor to say investors or our target users. And this is what I’m afraid of.

Previous Molecule

Overall, We grew a lot. I am not sure how other teammates thoughts or ideas, but I do like our team and I am proud of ourselves. At least for now, this is the best team I have ever meet. We share the same value, but we are all different at the same time. We have our strength and our weakness but we helped each other to be a better person at the same time. Because I love my team, I’m willing to adjust my emotion expression, I’m willing to trust them whatever struggle we faced to, I’m willing to improve my listening skills so that I can understand each other better, I’m willing to do more things for our team including branding and marketing ourselves just want to make sure everyone is comfortable and confident about the thing we are doing. Those are not because I was doing the CMO role or anything else, it’s just I’m willing to do anything for our team.

We still have socks and pins haha

We felt really proud when we talked to Brooke Hessler ( Director of Learning Resources in CCA ) She felt so excited about what Hatch. If we have the chance we are willing to continue this in CCA and help more students so that we can grow together.

We felt really proud when we saw an anonymous comment in our poster. We, as designers, want to bring more positive impacts on the world. It sounds vague and fuzzy maybe, but as long as the product we are working on can bring happiness and satisfaction to people, no matter how little it is, I feel proud.

We felt proud when we were standing together and presenting our final pitch, even though some of the questions were really hard to answer, we tried our best. We conveyed our vision and value to our audience, we don’t regret.

Thanks to the Creative Founder, Thanks to Kate. I have my best team ever.

We are team Hatch!

--

--