Pitch Practice Reflection

When we were preparing for the pitch, I thought it would go by a little faster than our previous presentations because we already had technically a rough draft of it from our midterm pitch. I tried to help make sure the work was divided equally, since we wanted to divide and conquer a bit more than we usually did. However, I learned that in when we decided that certain tasks would go to certain people, there seemed to be a lack of trust that the tasks would get done, which led to some high tension and redoing of work. Next time, for a project of this length, I would try the divide and conquer method a little sooner, to see if we could develop that trust among teammates earlier in the timeline so when it came to the end, everyone would know the job would get done.

The beginning of the pitch felt fine, but during the demo I began to realize that we were losing the audience. Even I felt a little bored, that our presentation felt very dry. Later, from the feedback we got, I realized that we had a habit of reading what is on our slides, that we don’t really say something other than what’s displayed. For the actual pitch day, I am planning on practicing the beginning so that we are telling a compelling story of who we are, the problems we’re addressing, without reiterating what’s on the screen. I will also keep track of how we do during our practice sessions, and try to encourage more energy and passion if it feels lacking. Fingers crossed.

--

--