Plat8s — Week 6

Our BMC

I’m now CEO of plates! :0 I’ve always had difficulty seeing myself as a leader and sought supporting roles and positions instead (I was secretary of student council in high school). I think I was intimidated by the name “CEO” because it sounds so big and scary and responsible but when I saw the jobs that a CEO does I felt at ease: I’ve been pretty good at keeping group sessions focused, timekeeping, moving things forward, etc. and that’s exactly what I’ll need to be doing as CEO.

Our direction has not changed since last week but I think we’ve gotten more focused and have narrowed down our priorities. Last week at Whole Foods we were struggling with explaining our idea in a sentence when an SFFD officer asked us. We got nervous and confused and ended up talking about something that we weren’t even doing.

This week I learned about SF CARD which is an organization that does earthquake training for organizations. Learning about other business models was very helpful and gave me new ideas.

--

--