Presentation: Customer Experience Story

Script

Intro & Outro (Elvin): Last week through our customer development, we’ve gotten feedback that parents feel our solution didn’t fundamentally solve their problems. Which is about the excessive screen time and the family conflicts around it. So we’ve changed to a slightly new direction based on the insights we gathered.

Narrator (Tara): To illustrate it, Let’s meet Jessica’s family.

Jessica (Ruitao): “Hi, I am Jessica, a mother with an 11 years old son Nathan.”

Nathan (Asher): “Which is me.”

Let’s picture a saturday morning in Jessica’s family.

Jessica: “It’s such a nice day. I already made a plan for a hiking trip to the Muir Woods National Park. I can’t wait to tell my son and go with him.”

So after the family had the breakfast, Jessica asks Nathan to change his clothes and get ready for the trip. But Nathan keeps playing a game on his iPad.

Jessica: “Come on, Nathan. Let’s go to the national park for hiking.”

Nathan: “No, I don’t wanna go...”

Jessica: “It will be fun, Look the weather is so nice…We can have a picnic there…”

Nathan: “I am in the middle of the game now. National park is such boring place to go for me. Can we just not go this time please???”

Jessica starts to feel irritated, she thinks to herself: “Ever since I got Nathan the iPad, he is always on the screen. If I’m not around, he would just play it all day long by himself. Now because of the device, he wouldn’t even go out with the family anymore. He has to learn that life is not just about dealing with screen.”

At this point, Jessica has lost her patience.

Jessica: “Come on, every time I ask you go anywhere, you think it’s boring. Shut down that damn game. I am taking it away now.”

Nathan: “What are you doing?! AHHHHHHHHHHHHHH”

Jessica: “I really don’t wanna do this, but you give me no choice.”

Nathan feels very upset: “Why is she always forcing me do something I don’t like? Can she just try to understand my situation, about what I’m interested in?”

And Jessica feels guilty and helpless: ”I want to respect my son’s feeling, but I really don’t know what I can do.”

It wasn’t a happy family weekend afterall.

Jessica wonders: “How can I find the outdoor activities that are more interesting to Nathan?”

Now imagine that Jessica has Pie…

She finds out Nathan’s interests from his screen usage. Jessica saw that Nathan has been playing the game called Minecraft. Pie provides Jessica a list of recommendations about family outdoor activities that Nathan might be interested in.

As Jessica browse through the list, she thinks to herself:

“Maybe instead of forcing Nathan to go hiking, I could go to those events that related to his interests on screen.”

That night, when Nathan is playing iPad.

Jessica asks him: “Hey, Nathan. Do you want to go to the Maker Faire or Lego Brick show over the weekend?”

Nathan: “What’s that Lego event? Is it gonna be as like building Minecraft, but for real?”

Jessica: “Yes, it’s for building legos. Many kids are going there.”

Nathan: “Can I ask my friend to come with us?”

Jessica: “Sure!”

Nathan: “Yay! I’ll call them now!”

Jessica and Nathan went to the Lego Brick show that weekend. They both enjoyed their time together. Nathan also recommended Jessica the game he is playing.

Every week, Jessica will propose interesting events for the family to go together.

Jessica feels that she forms a stronger connection with Nathan. Nathan is more willing to share his everyday experience with his mom. It’s not just interesting activities. It’s quality family time, which Jessica has always wanted but never could get.

--

--

Aosheng Ran
The Creative Founder : SpinClass edition [Fall 2019]

SF-based interaction designer @ CCA. I use systems thinking and storytelling to empower individuals and communities.