Team Week Reflection

Learning how to communicate & learn in a team

--

Based on my previous teamwork before this class, I learned that it is not always good to be polite during teamwork. Because always being nice and avoiding conflict during teamwork not only making myself having a hard time communicating with the team members but also resulting in a non-ideal product for all of the teammates.

Therefore, at the beginning of the class, I decided to be as straightforward as I can. However, I found that it is not always easy to be direct. Sometimes I think to talk to people face to face is too serious and make both of us feel embarrassed and awkward. I found that working on the empathy map is a great way to express my gratitude and concerns.

If it is too hard to say, you can choose to write them out.

Creating balance in the team is also important because teamwork is also about learning. While it is efficient to utilize each other’s strength and help the team, giving teammates chances to take responsibility for tasks that they are not good at can also help everyone to learn and create a better team dynamic.

From the empathy map, I realized that sometimes I take in charge of the task that I am pretty confident about, and forget to give other teammates opportunities to work on it as well. I also need to learn a lot from my teammates(responsibility, care for others, communication…), and try to become a better team member at the end of the semester

--

--