Brooklyn Based Francis Waplinger Is Redefining Shoemaking Aesthetic

Bhavnakumar
The Creative Inc.
Published in
3 min readApr 20, 2021

We are excited to know about you and your company. Please tell us about yourself in detail.

I’m a bespoke shoemaker based in Brooklyn, NY. I trained in Italy for three years in the art and craft of handmade footwear. Since then I’ve been working as an independent bespoke shoemaker for the last five years and most recently I’ve moved my workspace to Brooklyn, NY.

We would love to know how and where did you learn this amazing art from?

I first became interested in footwear during my teenage years as a soccer player and skateboarder. For both activities, footwear plays an important role functionally and aesthetically. My initial interest in shoes took me on a long journey into the world of footwear culminating in me living and working in Florence, Italy. I attended a specialized school for shoemaking and apprenticed in a bespoke shoemaking workshop during my time in Italy.

What do you want to aspire through your work?

I strive to make beautiful footwear that inspires people to dress well, giving people an extra boost of confidence when they are wearing my shoes. I also want to educate people about the importance of keeping age-old art and craft alive. Thriving small businesses and skilled artisans producing quality products adds to the vibrancy and richness of whichever city or town is home to them.

How does the process look like behind creating these marvelous pairs of shoes?

The first step is to meet the client and discuss their desires and needs for a pair of shoes. For instance, I first understand if the shoes are made for a special occasion or everyday wear, or are the shoes going to be worn specifically in the summer or winter. Next, I measure the clients' feet and discuss any problems they may have with their current footwear. We also discuss the leather and style choices for the client to choose from.

From there, I create a pair of fitting shoes for the client to try on so we can check the fit and the design and make any adjustments if necessary. Once the proper fit is determined I then proceed to make the final pair of shoes. The entire process for the first pair of shoes generally takes between six to eight months with multiple fittings.

What makes your brand Francis Waplinger distinct from other shoe-making brands?

I am one of the only bespoke shoemakers creating custom footwear from start to finish in the United States. This allows me to work very closely with each client to design and construct their dream shoes.

What inspired you to begin this company?

I have had the dream of running my own business for a long time. I enjoy the freedom it gives me and I work best when I am solely accountable to myself and my clients.

What advice would you like to give to anybody who wants to start their brand?

Be patient and be kind to yourself.

Where can our readers connect with you and buy these lovely pairs of shoes?

I am available by appointment. Please email me at info@franciswaplinger.com

My website is www.franciswaplinger.com

--

--

Bhavnakumar
The Creative Inc.

BHAVNA KUMAR is a copy editor at ‘The Inception Media’. A writer by day and a reader by night. She is also an early adopter who loves trying out new things...