Busy Mother turned Productivity Coach as she shares her secrets to a Productive Dreamer Life

Pratiksha Kumar
The Creative Inc.
Published in
4 min readFeb 18, 2021

Our readers would love to read about creative women. Please tell us about yourself.

I am a multi-passionate creative, who has lots of ideas to accomplish, and I specialize in making each creative project super essential and resourceful!

I am a mother of three, recently illustrated and published my first children's book, The Key Is You, and wrote a Kid's theme song, also designed a game app for it. It all sounds like a lot, but I am also a productivity coach for imaginative people, so I somehow do walk the talk.

Please shed some light on your online coaching business?

I specialize in productivity coaching for creatives. I coach people from all over the world on strategically planning and executing their dream projects. I have clients completing their long-awaited book publications, to releasing their first music albums. I enjoy being in a creative community and inspiring each other to influence our art.

What strategies do you plan to apply to your client's business?

I think being a good coach comes with being attentive and genuinely caring about what the clients want and need. It’s really easy for a coach to push their content and concepts into a client, and a lot of times that’s not really what the client needs. If they need absolute answers, I would assume they could just hire a consultant or a strategist for that specific topic such as building a funnel.

I like to provide space for the individual to create their structures and plans together, and they are in partnership to create.

Tell us about your songwriting process. How do you find inspiration?

Since I’m Mother and an Entrepreneur, there’s not much time to have long writing sessions. Scarcity of time turns out to be the biggest motivation of art productivity. Since then I have mastered the art of done is better than perfect, which I apply in my art and business. My kids are my biggest inspiration, and I’m currently working on a kids album this year.

I started composing songs since I was 13, and melodies and songs come to me very naturally, but I was never able to show the world because of fear. Fear of not being good enough. It wasn’t until when I moved to Hong Kong, somewhere between taking care of my kids, ran into a famous record producer in Hong Kong, and on the spot he asked me to send him a song every day for him to check out. And so, I did, and I sent him a song for about 30 days or so, and I was signed as an in-house songwriter, and I was able to participate in commercial music projects as well.

Please share with our readers about your writing experience. What books or authors have most affected your writing?

This is another fear I had to overcome. As a first-gen immigrant, I wasn't good at English OR Chinese. So I've always been very self-conscious about writing. When I had the story idea for my children's book, this dream of mine remained around for 5 years because of fear. Especially for new authors, the first thing you wanna do is show your work to a friend or two for some feedbacks. And usually, those feedbacks might not be so productive for your writing process, and it could throw you back a few years. It wasn't until my daughters fell in love with my books, I realized, I would publish this book even if it is just for my kids. Then the rest was a breeze, and we are running our 2nd print edition now. I could write a book in a weekend now. By which btw, my second book is coming out next month. And we are opening my signature coaching program to help creative artists publish their first book within 6 weeks!

Being a mother of 3 kids must be a tiring job. How does one strike a balance between your personal and professional life?

I Am a productivity coach, so this area is my daily passion. I believe that mothers can pursue their dreams too, but with smart systems, time blocking and mastering the art of "Done is better than perfect" which is a constant module in my coaching.

We also sat months for retreats, so we can recharge, and family is my number one priority.

Where can our audience get connected with you?

You can find us at @ms.maggielee www.maggielee.com, or google productive dreamers.

--

--