Prominent Author Winter Williams Shares Life-Changing Wisdom & Thoughts On Creativity

Bhavnakumar
The Creative Inc.
Published in
2 min readJan 21, 2021

Our readers love to read about women who are doing excellent work in their field. Please tell us about yourself and your area of expertise.

I am a fierce lover of people from all walks of life. As a mom, my ability to show compassion and genuine concern for others comes very easy for me. After going through my own difficult divorce, I found that after being married for 15 years, I could really speak wisdom to others and help inspire them despite what life may throw their way.

Shed some light on your life journey. What inspired you to be an author?

I was married to an NFL player for 15 years and endured years of infidelity. Writing helped me process a lot of what I was feeling and growing through. It became an outlet for me when so much of my life was seemingly falling apart. Writing helped me to truly discover my purpose and gave me the opportunity to rebuild my life.

How do you plan and prioritize your day, especially when you are writing?

As a mom of four, I have to ensure that my household is good. I’m grateful for a partner that helps out so much and allows me the freedom to buckle down when I need to. I’m getting better at using a calendar and planning my days out. I’m a true creative so I have to be in the mood to write. My writing is inspired. I generally can write chapters at a time when something is really pressing on me to come out. I like to write at night. I think more clearly for whatever reason. I also keep notes on my phone whenever I get an inspired thought. I wrote my 4th book by compiling my notes on my phone.

What is the most testing aspect of being an author?

Completing whatever I start is always a challenge because as a creative, I can always think of something new. My goal for 2021 has been to finish whatever I start. I don’t want to start anybody of the work I do not have the capacity to finish. My motivation is to truly inspire and encourage others so that requires that I complete whatever I believe will ensure that it happens.

How did being a writer helped you as a person?

I became more comfortable in my own skin. There is a level of vulnerability that is required to be a real writer. I’m naturally transparent, so being an author gave me another avenue of transparency. I love being able to connect with others and share my story. I’m much freer as a person.

Where can our readers engage with you?

www.instagram.com/thewinterwilliams https://www.youtube.com/c/WinterWilliamsOfficial

--

--

Bhavnakumar
The Creative Inc.

BHAVNA KUMAR is a copy editor at ‘The Inception Media’. A writer by day and a reader by night. She is also an early adopter who loves trying out new things...