Shea Filling Talks About Her Modeling Career And Empowering Women

Bhavnakumar
The Creative Inc.
Published in
5 min readFeb 3, 2021

Our readers would love to know about wonderful women like you who are doing exceptionally well in their field. Please tell us about yourself and therefore the amazing work you do?

I am twenty-four years old. I am a model signed with MMG in NYC and my degree is in Communication Broadcasting at ESU. The recent work I have done was a Commercial for “ShopYahaira” a shapewear company. The commercial will be displayed on a billboard in Times Square this year as well as in Airports. I modeled for New York Designer Diana Mahrach for her Bridal Couture line. I did some videos for ClipStock, an online video streaming company. I am on this month’s cover of GEZNO Magazine shot by Milad Rezaei and Creative Director Ella Adams. Lastly, I just filmed with “Nest of Love” an organization in Miami where I shared my true story how I managed to get out of being homeless, depression, surviving an abusive relationship and how I turned my life around and now I am inspiring women around the world.

Please shed some light on “Nest of Love”. What does it focus on?

“Nest of Love” is a non-profit organization located in Miami, FL that is committed to lead women from every culture and ethnicity to become a leader. Through providing, Mentorship, Leadership, Wellness, and Spiritual Guidance Programs.

We would love to know about your upcoming podcast “LIVE with Shea”. briefly, tell us about it.

LIVE with Shea is a podcast that I started because I have always been intrigued by successful people and how they started their careers so I wanted to interview interesting guests and ask them personal questions about their life. I want to provide a platform that gives people a voice and inspires others to follow their dreams.

What are your thoughts on women's empowerment? How does one think women can become the simplest edition of themselves?

I love women's empowerment! The world needs more women who are building up other women to become more confident and support each other. I personally can say I have struggled to have female friends because it is hard to find women who genuinely support you without being jealous. A Lot of women try to compete with each other and we need to realize we are stronger together than apart. Women can become the best edition of themselves just by being “confident” and loving who they are first. I think the people are hating on others usually are people who are insecure and do not love themselves to begin with. So be confident in who you are and focus on fueling your purpose and helping those who have the same goals. For me helping others is my purpose.

What do you think is the biggest shortcoming of being a model?

I would say the hours that are required when it comes to working. Sometimes a shoot could last twelve hours and it can be very tiring when wearing heels all day. So I would say know what you sign up for if you want to be a model. It is not as glamorous as it looks. Modeling has been a great experience for me in terms of building my confidence and networking in the industry with other creative professionals. Modeling just one of my many goals in my life…

What is one of the best pieces of advice that you got and would like to share with our readers?

The best piece of advice I got in my life is to “stay true to myself” I believe that when you love yourself and you are confident you will be able to achieve all your dreams. The only thing in this life that keeps you from your dreams is fear. So when I stopped letting fear get in the way I noticed that every door kept opening for me and people keep gravitating to me. I believe in the Law of Attraction. I started reading “The Secret” by Rhonda Byrne in 2014 and I still to this day have the book near my bed. That book changed my life because it teaches you how to change your mindset and I manifested everything I have in my life.

What all can we see coming from you in the year 2021?

In 2021 I will be doing more modeling work, I will be on more billboards, and working on my podcast show. I am in the process of writing a book and building my own brand. I plan to go back to Parkland School District and East Stroudsburg University to speak with students. I want to inspire young people to follow their dreams no matter how BIG they may seem. You can truly accomplish anything in your life if you are fearless and persistent.

--

--

Bhavnakumar
The Creative Inc.

BHAVNA KUMAR is a copy editor at ‘The Inception Media’. A writer by day and a reader by night. She is also an early adopter who loves trying out new things...