Why I wrote a book

I’m a writer on a different path than I planned 20 years ago

Tim Cigelske
The Creative Journey

--

5 years ago I started teaching a Marquette University honors seminar called The Art of Science of Creativity. 2 1/2 years ago I got the crazy thought that I could write a book for this class. Today the book is finally a reality.

When I was 18 I wanted to go to college and become a writer when I grew up. That path changed when I lost my newspaper job before the recession of 2008.

I learned from researching this book that creativity means pivoting and creating a new path when things don’t go as planned. (Things never go as planned.)

Every interesting journey has a twist. In Disney terms: It’s a lion that eats bugs with a meerkat and warthog… a mermaid that grows legs and loses her voice… a monster that learns funny is more powerful than scary.

Every interesting journey has partners who complement each other. Woody and Buzz… Moana and Maui… Dory and Marlin… Elsa and Anna… Wall-E and Eva… The Incredibles.

Every interesting journey ends (before it begins again) with returning where you started to share what you learned. For me, I’m returning back to the idea that I’ve always wanted to tell people’s stories.

--

--