Aislinn Kee: founder of lifestyle brand DesignHatch

Aislinn Kee: Designer and Founder of DesignHatch.ph [TCL 16]

Stephanie Gonzaga
The Creative Life
Published in
6 min readApr 18, 2016

--

The Creative Life is a mini series where I sit with emerging creatives and seasoned professionals to know and share their stories. They show a side of the creative life that we don’t often see: vulnerability, mistakes made, questions about the way their industries work, and lessons they’ve learned, both the painful and the eureka moments.

I first discovered DesignHatch on Instagram, and in an instant my notebook obsession kicked in. What’s great is how the product’s design and the brand’s mission resonate with Aislinn’s own ideals on what good design can do for the public. Here’s her story.

Let’s begin with who you are and the journey that led you to DesignHatch. How did it all begin?

I’m Aislinn Kee, a freelance graphic and interior designer. I’ve always wanted to go into product design for business, and already spent some time dreaming of products I wanted to make. The idea of the DesignHatch brand started with finding the message and vision I believed in, and deciding which products reflected that best.

I believe in the power of good design and how well-designed everyday products can influence and make people’s lives better. In the same way, I think this can be applied to people’s lives as well, in that we can craft our lives according to what would bring us most purpose and joy. And paper goods, notebooks for idea-jotting and the list pad for productivity, are great tools for making ideas and plans come to life.

One of the fascinating things about a brand is its name. What went behind the name “DesignHatch”?

A6 Lined by DesignHatch.ph

Hatch can mean a small opening for access between two spaces, or when it comes to ideas, it could also mean to bring them forth.

The DesignHatch name is a play on the brand using design as a way to hatch new product ideas; but also for customers, the brand and its product designs could serve as tools, ways or basically access to make their own ideas and craft their own lives.

What or who would you say is your biggest motivator/influencer/source of inspiration?

I’ve been fortunate enough to have found many inspiring mentor designers, from professors to bosses, who have motivated me at every stage in my creative life.

I’m quite a reader and have found works by Paulo Coelho and Elizabeth Gilbert inspiring. I also recently finished the book Zero to One by Peter Thiel and found eye-opening insights.

As a designer, I really look up to Paula Scher and generally find the mid-century modern era and Scandinavian design beautiful.

On your creative process: What goes into every DH notebook? How do you come up with the design, color, etc?

Gorgeous plain notebooks by DesignHatch.ph

I typically sketch the patterns first.

Sometimes, I know the exact color and design I want right away in this stage. And then I make the patterns on the computer and play around with the proportions and colors.

I always take time to let the ideas breathe and try not to open the design files for a couple of days, and then revisit the designs with fresh eyes.

Do you have a piece of work that you consider particularly significant, that you have an emotional relationship with?

In October last year, I had the opportunity to design two model units, three floors each.

It was tough schedule-wise, since I was doing both along with the launch of DesignHatch and several other interior design projects.

It was one of my first big projects, so it was pretty daunting for me; but both interiors came out like I envisioned them to be, and the client was happy too. Those months were pretty intense and emotional, since it was a lot of difficult work I had to do on my own, but I was also enjoying myself on each project.

Having pulled through and produced design work that I’m personally proud of has really made me more confident and readier to take on challenging projects.

Launching and managing an online business as a one-woman team is no walk in the park. What’s your biggest struggle/challenge/fear as a creative, and as an entrepreneur? And more importantly, how are you able to manage?

The biggest struggle for me is losing focus and discipline.

As a freelance creative and entrepreneur, I don’t have someone to tell me what I need to do or give me a schedule to follow. I’ve had some self-doubt and second-guessing when it comes to my creative and business decisions too, and sometimes, this gets in the way of things moving forward.

I journal regularly to set aside my doubts and fears. Somehow, writing about them, closing the notebook, and setting them aside makes me more able to concentrate on the work at hand.

The List Pad stemmed from Aislinn’s own productivity system.

As for being disciplined about my schedule, it is a constant struggle and area for improvement. I’m constantly devising ways and even designing my own productivity tools to become more efficient. One of these, the List Pad, has even found its way into the DesignHatch product line.

Spreading the word about one’s work is another huge challenge. How were you able to market and build an audience around your work (i.e. your Instagram following)?

Some of it has just been from word of mouth, my family and friends telling other people about DesignHatch and what I do.

I try to join as many craft fairs as I can, since people who are interested in homegrown brands and locally designed products really visit them, and it helps to have a physical presence when you’re an online store. Online and on Instagram, I post interesting photos, some announcements, and motivational ideas regularly to keep people interested.

What would you say is the biggest and most significant impact DesignHatch has on its customers and fans? In short, why should people care?

Good design, great products by DesignHatch.ph

I take care in finding the best materials and pay attention to the small details to make each DesignHatch product functional and beautiful.

With the current products in particular, many have praised the notebook paper’s compatibility with many types of pens and the rounded edges’ solution to crumpled notebook corners. These are some deliberate decisions made to come up with great products, and as the designer for DesignHatch, I’m committed to this intentional design approach.

What is the most important thing people should know about you as a creative + entrepreneur?

That I’m not afraid to put in the hard work.

What advice can you give to the young creative starting out?

Trust in your path and work for your goals. Don’t give in to fear and find joy in your creative journey.

What book would you recommend to fellow creatives?

Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear by Elizabeth Gilbert

What is your favorite tool to use when creating work?

Notebooks, because I like keeping my ideas in one place, where I can look back on the process and sometimes even find inspiration in an old idea again.

How can the community best support you and your work?

Being in a creative community and knowing that others are also in the same creative journey as me has been reassuring and inspiring.

--

--

Stephanie Gonzaga
The Creative Life

Huge 💛 for literature, SaaS, yellow notebooks, and life-changing stories. blog: (link: https://diwadaily.com) diwadaily.com