Ann Stanley: writer

Ann Stanley: Writer [TLC 19]

Stephanie Gonzaga
The Creative Life
Published in
5 min readMay 9, 2016

--

The Creative Life is a mini series where I sit with emerging creatives and seasoned professionals to know and share their stories. They show a side of the creative life that we don’t often see: vulnerability, mistakes made, questions about the way their industries work, and lessons they’ve learned, both the painful and the eureka moments.

Fiction writer Ann Stanley and I belong to the same batch of students of Joe Bunting’s Story Cartel course, and are co-members of The Cartel Collaborative. She writes short stories and flash fiction pieces, and is a regular contributor for shortfictionbreak.com. She recently published Bella’s Rebellion, her first self-published short story collection.

How did you begin your journey as a writer, and how did you arrive at where you are today?

I’ve always read a huge amount, primarily fiction, and I remember starting a novel back in college and abandoning it, believing it wasn’t any good. It was many years before I tried writing again.

In my late forties I had an idea for a nonfiction book and spent many hours researching it and trying to put it together. I never did publish that book, but I guess it woke up my creative side, because one day while out for a walk, an unusual-looking man fishing on a bridge got me spinning a story in my head and I just had to write it down. Soon after that, I took a writing class.

Who or what inspires you and/or influences your work?

Mainly my life experiences and the many novels I’ve read, but also news events.

What is it about the short story that compels you to write in that genre?

Photo credits: Ann Stanley

My short stories have come out of classes I’ve taken, and anthologies I’ve agreed to take part in, but I do like the form a lot, I think because it’s so constrained.

The emotional arc is pretty simple, either going up in intensity, then down, or going only in a single direction, yet it’s possible to pack a great deal about the characters and their lives into that form and achieve character development with very few words.

On your creative process: What goes into each short story?

Usually, they come out of prompts with my local writing group. I have a little something, written in twenty minutes, and it intrigues me, so I play with it.

I often write a draft in a single sitting, then revise many times. I’ll take the story to a critique group, and also my editor, and use their feedback to enrich the characters and increase the tension. Often I have to simplify the plot, too. I have a tendency to try to cram an entire novel into three thousand words; they always call me out on that.

You recently self-published Bella’s Rebellion, which brings together short stories covering a vast array of themes, such as happiness, disappointment, jealousy, and misconception. Could you describe the selection process and how the book came together as a whole?

I chose stories which were close to completion. I wanted each to feature a strong woman/female, and I wanted a mix of previously-published and brand new pieces.

I write for shortfictionbreak.com, and have to put things up there fairly frequently, so the stories on there are often second drafts. I chose my favorites to revise.

One thing I did which goes against conventional wisdom — I mixed genres. I don’t know if that was wise or not, but I personally really like the variety.

You’ve chosen “Bella’s Rebellion” as the title for the entire collection. What is it about the story that made you decide to christen the book as its namesake?

An excerpt from “Bella’s Rebellion” by Ann Stanley

First, I like the title because it implies strength. I like the story, too. Bella is a character who walks out of the murder mystery she’s in, challenges the reader (who is a character) to stretch herself, and revises the novel so that she is the detective, instead of the murderer. It sounds heavy, yet it’s actually very lighthearted.

What is your biggest struggle or fear as a writer? More importantly, how are you able to manage?

I have the same fears most writers struggle with; that my work is no good; that it will be ignored; that I will die in poverty; and many, many others.

I deal with those fears a number of ways. First, I learn my craft. Second, I take my writing to people I trust to critique before I publish (usually). Then I take deep breaths and push through the fears. I also have a great editor, which gives me confidence my writing has passed through the fire.

Many writers struggle with finishing what they’ve started, especially if it’s a huge project like a novel or a short story collection. What are your best tips to starting and finishing a project?

Just do it. One step at a time.

Set little goals, don’t try to do it all at once. One of mine is often: today I will set a timer and work for 25 minutes. I use a program to keep myself off social media during that time.

What is the most important thing people should know about you as a writer and as a creative individual as a whole?

I love writing more than anything. Music comes next. These activities bring joy to me, and I can do them for hours at a time.

What advice can you give to the young writer starting out?

Photo credits: Ann Stanley

Join critique groups. Find one which works for you. Get over your shyness about showing your work to other people, and listen to their comments. Take them seriously. Rewrite. And write a lot. Your first writing won’t be very good, but that’s okay. Keep learning, keep writing, and you’ll improve.

What book would you recommend to fellow creatives?

I’ve read too many to choose one. It depends upon where you’re at in your process.

How can the community best support you and your work as a writer?

Buy my book, read it, and leave a review. Tell your friends.

It’s always wonderful to hear from readers. Drop me a note and let me know what you thought of the book. You can also join my email list (and get a free short story) over at my Website (www.annstanleywrites.com), or connect with me on Facebook (AnnStanleyAuthor).

The Creative Life is a series of stories of artists, makers, and entrepreneurs on the how and why behind the work that they do. If you enjoyed this story and want more, you can get the latest release in your inbox by signing up here.

Originally published at stefgonzaga.com on May 9, 2016.

--

--

Stephanie Gonzaga
The Creative Life

Huge 💛 for literature, SaaS, yellow notebooks, and life-changing stories. blog: (link: https://diwadaily.com) diwadaily.com