Bisai: painter

Bisai: Painter [TLC 18]

Stephanie Gonzaga
The Creative Life
Published in
10 min readMay 2, 2016

--

The Creative Life is a mini series where I sit with emerging creatives and seasoned professionals to know and share their stories. They show a side of the creative life that we don’t often see: vulnerability, mistakes made, questions about the way their industries work, and lessons they’ve learned, both the painful and the eureka moments.

I first connected with Filipino painter Bisai via Facebook, where she shares photos and details of her paintings. Her works have since been exhibited locally and abroad, some of which have garnered her recognition worldwide.

How did you discover the beauty and intricacies of art? What motivated you to pursue your craft?

I had loved art since I was very young. In grade and high school, I was always asked by my teacher to beautify our bulletin board, since I was good at designs and handwriting.

I would doodle on our home walls, sofas, or any empty space. I wanted to study Fine Arts in college, but my parents did not approve. I used to make craft arts and sell to friends to add to my allowance. I didn’t realise all these would someday lead to where I am today.

You started painting professionally in 1997 while living abroad. How had this period in your life shape your style and your choice of subject matter?

“Courage,” oil painting size 40×40 inches by Bisai

\I worked in five-star hotels that time and I was surrounded by fine art paintings displayed in our workplace and all over hotel premises.

I would stare at them and see how they are painted. I challenged myself that one day, I am going to paint a large piece myself.

I made friends who also paint and surrounded myself with people who share the same interest in visual art. I painted during my free time after work and accumulated a lot. I was already doing abstract expressionism, figurative, and many liked my earlier works. Many of these are now in villas, condos and homes of my hotel managers, clients and friends I made in other countries.

My work has also been featured in the local newspaper and elicited interest from local art collectors. That started my interest to focus in creating more quality artworks for me.

What made you decide to relocate to the Philippines and enter the local art scene?

I joined the art scene in 2010 when I participated in the Best Of Asian Art competition in Singapore. Out of 1000+ participants, I was one of Top 5 winners. And the only Filipino to be in the top 5. It was all based on organic appreciation of pieces. Nobody knew me and I just submitted my entry.

It was only in 2012 when I officially joined the Philippine art scene and started participating in group art exhibit shows in Manila. In 2013 I was invited to exhibit in Times Square in New York as one of only 5 Filipino participants at that time. It was tough to get into, but I was blessed to be part of it.

Are there differences in terms of reception to your work between your audience abroad and that of here in the Philippines?

“The Enchantress” (2015) by Bisai

I am being mentored by a fine arts senior painter based in Perth, Australia. Arturo Cruz is his name. He taught me the philosophy and principles of the style I chose.

Because of that mentorship, I had grown better in my work in terms of quality, style and presentation. These days, art collectors abroad buy abstract expressionist works, contemporary art or modern art. It fetches the highest art value too. Many of my art followers or buyers chose my paintings because it has a contemporary modern art feel to it and it’s what they like.

I understand too that people buy something they like. That is important to be happy with any art purchase. You need to like your purchase and go home happy with it.

Here in Philippines, I noticed that majority are still into impressionism. Many still like landscapes, still life pieces, flowers, natures etc. Nothing wrong with that. But lately there is a growing appreciation for contemporary art or contemporary modern art where we belong. Perhaps in a few years, more buyers will appreciate what we are creating now when there is also growth in art appreciation coming from the public.

Who or what inspires you and/or influences your work?

My art style and subjects are so varied. That is because I read alot. I read books or articles on humanities, people, history, science, engineering, architecture, religion and even komiks. From these sources I derive my inspiration.

In art, nothing is original. Everything has been done from past. How we make it look like, new or embellished, is what matters. Presenting something new from something old. That’s my mantra.

I paint what I feel, what I see, what I wish to convey. Maybe that is the reason why I am able to relate to my buyers who are from different sectors and age groups. I paint based on what I like and not what buyers like. When they look at it and they like what they see, perhaps it strikes a chord in them then they buy it.

On your creative process: What goes into each painting?

Since I prefer doing works on huge canvasses, there are a lot that go into it.

Art is all about process. Painters always experiment in every piece. Because I am doing abstraction works, I cannot duplicate my paintings. It’s impossible to duplicate an abstract painting.

I am picky with my materials: canvas, frames, stretchers, paints, brushes and other mediums needed to complete it. I prefer to use quality paints and brushes. When I work on these tools, it gives me a good feeling because I know I’m creating quality work using quality materials. Never use cheap paints, it will flake off later and wont last.

Real art collectors would know if cheap paint is used in a painting or not. It is always safe to use something that would last long. Much of my investment goes into my tools, and that alone is assurance for my buyers as well.

I also do a short ritual before starting to work on a piece. I would pray over my canvas and offer my work to God, imploring Him to bless me, my hands and mind that I maybe able to paint something that would delight viewers and Him. After that short prayer and dedication, I would then proceed to do my art.

I do not use outlines at all. I paint right into the canvas without any references via drawings or guides underneath. I want to do something raw and organic without too many references.

Do you have a piece of work that you consider particularly significant, that you have an emotional relationship with?

“Red Beauty” (2013) is my gift painting to mom — Bisai

Yes, my red beauty, a horse painting.

I love horses for the characteristics it exudes. I liken myself to the horse: strong but gentle, quiet but focused. My favorite horse painting I gave to my mom as my welcome home gift for her. It is now displayed in her home wall. I also kept a few paintings at home and not sell to any buyers because they are special to me.

What is your biggest struggle or fear as a painter? More importantly, how are you able to manage?

There will always be haters and competitors who do not fight fair. I had my share of abuse. People who undervalue my work and sell them off to others. Some people destroy your reputation even before you can present yourself to a larger audience because they don’t like seeing you soar high.

I had also created something, and some copy the concept and pass it off themselves. I just try to always be careful. I consult my mentor for guidance when pricing my art so I know what is fair and appropriate for a painter of my level. I want art enthusiasts to enjoy taking home a piece of my art.

I do a lot of reading about the local art industry in the Philippines and abroad to know what is the current state of art, hot news in the art scene, and what my idol painters are up to. I like reading about art criticism, so I can learn more about styles and the psychology of art making, and art appreciation from a second or third party.

Many creatives struggle with finishing what they’ve started. What are your best tips to starting and finishing a project?

“Zia nude in red” (2012) by Bisai

I try not to put out too many canvases in front of me. I try my best to focus on one work at a time.

The chances of finishing an unfinished work for any artist is that the break time could take weeks or months before the urge to finish it strikes us. I have some unfinished paintings that are still work in progress for years now.

You’ve garnered awards and exhibited in various locations across the world. What steps did you take to be showcased/featured?

Thankfully, many of these opportunities to exhibit abroad are all through word of mouth (from fellow painters and organisers) and mainly through social media, precisely Facebook.

Because I share my work online, many discovered me through my online shares. I thank Facebook because I had sold my works mainly from it. About 90% of my sales are via Facebook groups and my own wall postings. 10% are sold via exhibitions.

What are your best tips to build an audience around your work?

“Beautiful Horse” (2013 by Bisai

I think the best way is to be honest in your work. Be honest to your buyers regarding the quality aspect of your painting, the materials you used, and give them assurances of its authenticity. When people see that you are honest with what you are selling, they will be assured of a good purchase. When they are happy dealing with you, they will even promote you to other friends.

Never be arrogant. Be flexible in your pricing but not to the point of being overgenerous. Price your work in a fair manner. Be good at presenting your works in public exhibits (properly framed, packaged, etc.) or when exhibiting or sharing them online (use clear well lighted photos so they can zoom in and out, and appreciate the piece better). When you are responsible in your work, and the quality is evident, people will not hesitate buying from you.

What is the most important thing people should know about you as a painter?

I’d like my viewers to see me as a passionate painter.

I take pleasure in doing works not hastily done, but with care and quality. I want them to remember me as a painter who takes her viewers to a journey in art appreciation. Everyday I want them to see my paintings differently, interpret it differently each time they see the painting.

Most of the pieces I do are meant to be pieces for homes or offices where they will be hanged. That is my personal goals for each painting I create.

What advice can you give to the young creative starting out?

I urge them to keeping learning. Read a lot, research a lot, and don’t go where majority of the crowd goes. Read anything that interests you and learn from the great artists you admire.

Be lost in your journey and find your own niche.

Interact with different people of different age, background, principles or faith.

Learn from everyone you meet. Learn from them, steal their style and improve on it.

Remember that in art, there is no such thing as originality. Everything else is adaptation from the original concept.

What book would you recommend to fellow creatives?

Read books preferably about humanities, history, philosophy, religion, psychology, science, architecture. Read books purely dedicated to classical art to modern art and everything else in between those period.

Knowledge is power. When you are equipped with knowledge you can manipulate these in creating something new.

What is your favorite tool to use when creating work?

I love doing oil, acrylic and mix media work. I like painting on canvasses, but lately I am also doing art application using other mediums like kitchen accessories, bags and clothing. I love painting using palette knives.

How can the community best support you and your work as a painter?

I wish corporate sponsors will consider sponsoring more artists in their public art exhibitions or art events.

By being able to share our work to the general public and in a public space, there is growing appreciation from all sectors of society. An informed society is a good society.

I wish more grants and fundings be provided to artists, painters, and creatives when they take up art residencies abroad to better hone their skills. I wish the community will support artists via access to usage of public spaces in their communities.

--

--

Stephanie Gonzaga
The Creative Life

Huge 💛 for literature, SaaS, yellow notebooks, and life-changing stories. blog: (link: https://diwadaily.com) diwadaily.com