How To Focus The Lens of Attention To Nurture Creative Expertise

Choosing between a deep and narrow creative focus or a broad and shallow one can lead to obscurity or creative success. Let’s examine the difference.

Larry G. Maguire
Peak Performer
Published in
7 min readAug 30, 2019

--

I got a call from David about a year ago. He’s a writer, and he wanted me to help him build his email list and develop an email marketing strategy. Now, although the last ten years have taught me a lot about digital marketing, servers and hosting, WordPress, email, and so on, doing the work for other people is not necessarily my bag.

It used to be. I once provided the service to others, but I became very impatient and frustrated at clients’ lack of attention to detail and their inability to absorb what I told them. You see, I’m a slight perfectionist, I’ll admit it, and therefore I can be difficult to work with. I must write about that sometime soon.

Anyway, back to the story…

I sacked the few clients I had, or they sacked me, and I went back to the work that has earned me a steady living for 30+ years.

When David came knocking, he was desperate. His website was down, he had lost important web pages, and Google ranking (or so he thought), and his business was suffering. So in my…

--

--

Larry G. Maguire
Peak Performer

Work Psychologist & lecturer writing on the human relationship with work | Unworking | Future of Work | Leadership | Wellbeing | Performance | larrygmaguire.com