Play: Why It’s Essential For Creative Work That Matters

Daily work without play can be an intense sterile place that breeds anxiety and depression. Here’s how to counteract that.

Larry G. Maguire
Peak Performer
Published in
6 min readSep 29, 2019

--

Back in 2000, I began working for myself. I was turned on, engaged and enthusiastic. As far as I was concerned, working as a self-employed contractor and getting paid well for it was like getting paid to play. I enjoyed working with my hands, designing and creating solutions to people’s problems. So, work and play were very much combined for me back in those early days.

By 2008 all that was changing. In the pursuit of success, I took on too much debt, hired too many staff, and bought too many things the business couldn’t afford. I was extrinsically driven, albeit in the wrong direction. The number of staff, vans on the road, turnover, high profile clients; they were all illusory measures of success. I was hypnotised to such a degree, that I didn’t see the economy taking a turn. Or I ignored it; I can’t tell which.

All the fun had long since disappeared from my daily work — and life in general. I looked forward to Friday’s and two bottles of red and dreaded Monday mornings. I had stopped playing sport, put on weight, and I was drinking too much. Every ounce of my effort was in my work, and I made no…

--

--

Larry G. Maguire
Peak Performer

Work Psychologist & lecturer writing on the human relationship with work | Unworking | Future of Work | Leadership | Wellbeing | Performance | larrygmaguire.com