Interview with Senegalese artist, Sylvain Domingo

Conducted in Dakar, Senegal, and translated from French (02/20/2020)

Portrait of Sylvain Domingo

The Creative Process

What is your artistic/educational background?

Sylvain Domingo

I have been painting for as long as I can remember. It was no question for me that my true calling in life was to become an artist and use my work to serve causes I deeply cared about and still do, after 20 years of artistic practice. After graduating from high school, I joined the Ecole Nationale des Arts, or National School of Fine Arts in Dakar. Studying there equipped me with the technical tools to translate my ideas into reality, onto canvas.

After graduating from the Ecole Nationale, I chose to engage on a path joining art practice, research, and teaching. In 1999, I debuted as a visual arts instructor at the Anne-Marie Jahouvey private institute, located in the medina of Dakar.

Sylvain Domingo in his workshop, at the “Village des Arts”, in Dakar

As a painting instructor, I was able to combine both of my passions : art and education. I took part to exhibitions celebrating educational careers, such as the “L’enfant, l’art, et le musée“ (1995), at the Musée de l’IFAN/CAD, in Dakar. I have also been working and collaborating with companies and corporates.

I have exhibited my work as part of both collective and individual exhibitions, both in Senegal and abroad. In Senegal, I was able to introduce my work in national art salons and at the Biennale de l’Art Africain Contemporain, or ‘Contemporary African Art biennial’, in Dakar. In 1999, I hosted my first individual exhibition, Découverte, at the IFAN/Cheick Anta Diop museum. Three years later, I hosted a second individual exhibition, Mutations, in the same museum.

If I had to reflect on my career as an artist, I’d say that the last twenty years of artistic practice has been the most fulfilling years of my life. They made me the sensitive, yet assertive, and humane being standing in front of you now.

The Creative Process

What does your art work aim to say? What recurring themes can be found in your work ?

Sylvain Domingo

I would like to say that the theme of diversity translates in the entirety of my work. Diversity in the selected themes, aesthetics, and chosen techniques… The ‘artistic logic’ that stands behind the creative process involved in my work stems from my belief that art is first meaning, and then form. Not the other way around. I disagree with the formalists and advocates of abstract art : I believe every form is form of something ; it reflects something or object that exists in reality.

In my exhibition Série musicale, I have included 7 paintings : 3 I have made with batik, and 4 with acrylic, with the knife technique. You’ll often find me using the same techniques for the majority of my art work. It is my signature, in a way.

In “Griot“ (2016), I have used both the batik and acrylic techniques to reflect the character’s serenity and peace of mind, and the harmony of colors. “Les Choristes“ (2016) was made with the same techniques : batik and acrylic, same tonality, although the color contrasts are more salient, given that there are more characters.

“Griot”, acrylic (2016)

Série musicale is comprised of 6 series, each a reflection on a different theme : environmental issues, music and dance, society, women, youth, and Africa. Those are my biggest preoccupations.

I hope my art can provoke some sort of reaction and encourage people to think about these themes : all things that we have thoughtlessly taken for granted.

The Creative Process

How does your work comment on current social or political issues?

Sylvain Domingo

I aim to create art that contributes, even minimally, to the transformation of African societies.

As I mentioned earlier, I am very concerned about the environment, and nature, in general. All the paintings under the series ‘Environment’ are in acrylic on canvas, which I believe to be a technique that allows me to respect the state of our environment, given how environment, all throughout the world, is mistreated and taken for granted. (see COP 21 in 2015 and COP 22 in 2016.) Specifically, the paintings “Evolution 1“ (2016), and “Evolution 2“ (2016), uncover a sense of the ‘pathetic,’ almost in tragical tone, revealed by the use of an abundance of colors.

The series ‘Woman’, comprised of 5 paintings in acrylic and 2 tapestries, pays tribute to African women from all across Africa. I have always been concerned about the way black African women were often categorized and depicted, in some regions of the world, as being assertive and strong, in an almost intimidating and masculine way. I want to show that a black African woman can be both strong and feminine, in a way that is empowering to little African and dark-skinned girls.

“Débo, la femme pulaar”, acrylic (2016)

“Débo, la femme pulaar “ (2016) captures the persona of the Senegalese traditional woman, well-known for her attachment to traditions. Standing in the middle of the scene, in bright traditional clothes, jewelry, and a tattoo, she radiates grace, pride, and elegance.

“L’insoumise“ (2016), on the other hand, is standing alone, straight and serein, glaring at men, with sparkling eyes. She impresses from the outset. Yet, she remains feminine and delicate.

On a general thematic level, I aim to emphasize the set of African common values and traditions from across the African continent, –Africa is not a country (laugh)-, while giving a place to modernity, and how they interact with each other and coexist.

The Creative Process

What are your sources of inspiration? Do you look up to any particular artists ?

Sylvain Domingo

As an aspiring artist, I have always looked up to the genius of Spanish legend, Pablo Picasso. His diverse and multi-form collections of art works, in addition to his exceptionally long career as a painter, bear witness to the artist’s duty to listen to his inner creative voice and redouble efforts to translate it into reality. For those who don’t know, Picasso was born in 1881. During his 91 years of long existence, he has produced over 20,000 art work, ranging from sculptures to paintings. Picasso’s path was far from being linear : it has constantly evolved and changed. It had multiple major breakthrough stages and innovative initiatives. He will forever retain a special place in my heart.

“ Bardes”, acrylic and batik (2015)

The Creative Process

Which techniques do you enjoy using the most ?

Sylvain Domingo

I would qualify myself as a classical painter, first and foremost. I have learnt and used traditional painting techniques, such as acrylic and oil. As I have evolved as an artist, throughout my career, I have learnt how to master other techniques,-like the collage, the grattage-, and use batik, woden loincloth, synthetic resin, etc. Using the latter allowed me to add, when needed, more substance, depth, and relief on the canvas. You’ll also notice a pattern of geometrical forms in my work that I like to experiment with. I have also worked on various supports and media: from wall painting and comics, to logos confection.

To select my techniques, I follow my intuition and inner curious voice. I don’t like following trends. I stay away from installations, for example.

On an aesthetic level, I want my paintings to give off a sense of sobriety and balance,- no myriad of colors, no cacophony-, but rather measure.

“Unknown”, acrylic

The Creative Process

How do you seek out opportunities? How do you work to get your work out there and share it with the world ?

Sylvain Domingo

I spend a lot of time painting and researching new techniques in my workshop. I have especially became increasingly curious over time, and I often find myself guided by that curious inner voice.

In terms of advertising for my work, people who come to Dakar and visit the Village des Arts –art complex- can enter my workshop –as they often do- and take a look at my paintings. I have also recently started using social media platforms –Instagram for example- to share my work with the world. I don’t really do anything special to put my work out there.

The Creative Process

Thank you, Mr Domingo, for sharing your story and artistic career. Do you have any final words ?

Sylvain Domingo

You know, growing up, I have faced a lot of obstacles. If you come from a society where art as a professional practice isn’t highly valued, in comparison to other professions, don’t give up. Listen to your curious/childish self and experiment with different art techniques, keep trying until you produce art that changes society and the way it views art.

“Unknown”, batik and acrylic

Mr. Domingo can be contacted via email at : sylvdom01@gmail.com

--

--