Happiness at the Grocery Store

My wonderful surprise yesterday

L.A. Strucke
The Creative Project

--

Photo by Tara Clark on Unsplash

I had the shock of my life yesterday,

It was the day before Easter. I realized I needed groceries. I grabbed some bags and headed off to the store. Since it was the day before a holiday, I knew the store would be crowded.

I maneuvered through dozens of people and started tossing items in my basket. I’m the kind of person who enjoys grocery shopping, but crowds are not my thing. Crowds of people congregated around the hams. It seemed everyone was buying hams and pineapple for Easter dinner. I grabbed a ham too!

Dreading the self-checkout line

Fortunately, I found everything I needed in the store. Yet, I did not look forward to having to wait in a long line only to do the work of checking myself out.

Our store has self-checkout and lately, we’re lucky if we have the option of a cashier to go to. Self-checkout is something I dread. It is not my thing. I prefer having a store employee do the work.

Lately, I’d heard horror stories of people who’d been stopped and checked by security after checking themselves out. I wondered why stores were all for self-checkout. It seemed more trouble than it was worth.

--

--

L.A. Strucke
The Creative Project

Top Writer, Songwriter. Published in Chicken Soup for the Soul, Highlights for Children and Guideposts. Editor of The Creative Project.