I Walked 10,000 Steps a Day and This is What Happened

My month-long attempt at better health

L.A. Strucke
The Creative Project

--

Photo by Clarisse Meyer on Unsplash

I decided to walk 10,000 steps a day. I’d had it with tight clothing, and extra pounds.

When I bounded up a flight of stairs in the rush to get somewhere, it would leave me out of breath. It was embarrassing. People would ask me if I were okay. A simple dash up a flight of stairs would send my heart rate up to 139.

As time went on, it only got worse. I began to wonder if those extra pounds and my sedentary lifestyle were going to permanently damage my health.

Losing weight was a battle

I tried dieting, but I had too much stress in my life. I was worried daily if I could meet my bills every month. The stubborn pounds clung to my waist. I was a health disaster waiting to happen.

When I looked in the mirror, I saw a heavy person I didn’t recognize. I had to do something.

Then I heard about walking 10,000 steps a day for better health, and hopefully to lose weight too. People said you could lose up to 1 pound a week. What did I have to lose?

My daily steps begin

I had a steps tracker on my watch, so it was easy. It recorded all the steps and flights of steps I…

--

--

L.A. Strucke
The Creative Project

Top Writer, Songwriter. Published in Chicken Soup for the Soul, Highlights for Children and Guideposts. Editor of The Creative Project.